I desperately need help with animation in OpenGL!

I guys, I’m Anthony . I’m a student at the University of Guyana and I’m doing a final year project in OpenGL but I’m in trouble interms of getting the animation part. I’m constructing a model with has Corticospinal tracts. It’s a model with spinal cord and the brain. I would like to get an effect that when you press a key for instance R, you get an animation going up .Like how the blood travels around the
body. You know, like a red color moving from the bottom of the spinal cord to the brain. I hope you guys understand. I don’t know what exactly to use , can you guys please tell me what to use. well, I tried something with curves but I didn’t get it. I’m using OpenGL with C programming. I would like you guys
to see the picture of the model but I don’t how to put it here.Someone please tell me how to put up a picture. Anyhow ,looking forward to early replies…bye
Here is the link to the picture.

http://gmail.google.com/gmail?view=att&disp=inline&attid=0.1&th=1040fa0fb94ece91

You can upload your image here , then use the IMAGE button when posting a reply.
As for your problem, hmmmmm… I guess you could move a bright red cylinder over the blood vessel.
Like this:

Here is the picture of the model I want to create

You need to learn some basics of OpenGL.

I would suggest drawing the pathways to the stencil buffer and then stencil testing a textured polygon with scrolling texture coordinates that cover the paths. This assumes it’s just a 2D image you’re dealing with.

why stencil? you guys are retarded a little I think