Blank Window :(

I’m a complete beginner on OpenGL, so bare with me

I got this piece of code down here, and I was supposed to add another object to it, smaller, behind the pyramid:

{******************************}
void RenderScene ()

{
glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT );
pyramid();
glutSwapBuffers();
}

void initFunc ()

{
glClearColor( 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f );

glMatrixMode (GL_PROJECTION);
 glLoadIdentity();
 glOrtho(-2.0,2.0,-2.0,2.0,8.0,12.0);

glMatrixMode (GL_MODELVIEW);
 glLoadIdentity();
 gluLookAt(0.0, 0.0, 10.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0); 

glEnable(GL_CULL_FACE);

}

void idleFunc()

{
if ( rotateX ) {
glRotatef( 0.7f, 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f );
glutPostRedisplay();
} else if ( rotateY) {
glRotatef( 0.7f, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f );
glutPostRedisplay();
}
}
{******************************}
What I did was modify the renderScene display function this way:

void RenderScene ()
{
pyramid();
glPushMatrix;
glScalef(0.75,0.75,0.75);
glTranslatef(0,0,-3);
pyramid();
glPopMatrix;
glutSwapBuffers();
}

However, after the first frame, the screen goes blank I assume it’s a problem with the eye/modelview matrix, but I’m too dumb to figure it ^^"

Oh BTW, the frames are updated by the idleFunc. rotateX/Y are true according to mouse activity (that is the mouse rotates the scene).

Major thanks for any help

What happens is the matrix is not being cleared and each time you call the renderscene function the matrix is increased from it last state.

Add glLoadIdentity() after your clear statment in the renderscene function

Also you will need to move the gluLookAt function from the init routine also into the the renderscene.

Also in your idle function, change to this:

void idelfunc( void )
{
glutPostRedisplay();
}

Move the if statments and glRotate into the renderscene routine.

There location will be based on what you are trying to rotate.

Here is a bit of my display rendering code

glClear (GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); //Clear the screen