Back to begginers!

Hi everyone!
I am a VB programmer switchwing to C++ and I feel like a baby now!

I downloaded a Nehe example and it just won’t work.
I get:“Linking…
LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file “glut32.lib”
Error executing link.exe.”

I already download the glut 3.7 and copied the .dll’s and everywhere (system32, include folder). Also copied the .lib to the include folder.

Can someone help me with the basics?!
What if just don’t want to use GLUT and i just want to use OpenGL, what headers should I use?

Thanks! :slight_smile:
Rod

This has been asked billions of times. The error you have makes me think that you copied the lib in the wrong directory or didn’t ensure it is accessible threw the library directories.

If you want just to use OpenGL, then good luck ! Well more seriously, you need the native windows library. But I’ll suggest you to stay with glut or use something else like SDL.

>> Also copied the .lib to the include folder.
libs goes to lib directories…

GLUT opens a window gives you a 3D context, handles event input like window manager, keyboard and mouse.

If you don’t use GLUT then what you use will vary depending on your platform. e.g. on windows you’ll use win32 and WGL calls.

GLUT saves you a lot of work, especially when you’re just starting out.

Make sure that your library and search paths are set up properly in the compiler. In Visual C++, it’s in the options dialog somewhere.

Hope this helps

Guys thanks for all your answers!
Yes… I know that GLUT is extremelly useful!.. I just thought that without it, it would be easier to make the libraries stuff to work… But I get similar errors still without it:

Now:
“LIBCD.lib(crt0.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _main
Debug/Lesson5.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 21 unresolved externals
Error executing link.exe.”

What is exactly waht I have to do to fix this?
I am working under Microsoft C++ enveiroment.

Thanks everyone! :slight_smile:
Rod