Vertex array properties

Hi, I’m very new to OpenGL and to game programming as well. A problem that has been bugging me is how do you set some texture properties when you are goind to use glDrawElements or glDrawArrays? I know you can specify them using glTexCoordPointer, however, how about the lighting of the texture, like material ambience, material diffuse, and material specularity? I know that they can be set using glMaterial* functions, but those are only used when you are drawing using glVertex-like procedures. Please help me!

glMaterial is not only for immediate mode rendering, it’s for any rendering. So you set materials for vertex arrays exactly like you would for immediate mode rendering.

so then, for every mesh I render (with texture included), I need to call glMaterial for every glDrawArray call, am I right?

only if you want the meshes to have different colours. opengl is a “state machine”: if you call glColor (or glMaterial, or glNormal etc.), ogl “remembers” the values until the next call to glColor etc.

hmmm… I just tested it out, but it doesnt seem to work. I tested it for two different settings and it doesnt seem to be different at all.

first setting:
GLfloat MatAmb[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatDif[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatSpc[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f};

and calls to glMaterial, etc, before glDrawArray

second setting:
GLfloat MatAmb[] = {0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatDif[] = {0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatSpc[] = {0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f};

and calls to glMaterial, etc, before glDrawArray.

These two settings doesnt seem to be different at all! :frowning:

Please teach me to do these correctly! Thanks!

Post more code. There’s something you’re not doing right.

GLfloat MatAmb[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatDif[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f}; GLfloat MatSpc[] = {100.0f, 100.0f, 100.0f, 1.0f};