Urgent, how to render these surfaces?

Hi,

I need to visualize some isosurfaces with GLUT. Since I am a beginner of opengl, I don’t want to bother studying how to do isosurface extraction from a field. I use IBM openDX to extract isosurfaces from a field (specifically, a turbulent flow field) and output the isosurfaces represented by a bouch of triangles. Then I want to see the isosurfaces approximated by the triangles with GLUT.

Now I can see those surfaces with GLUT, however, they don’t look like 3D stuff, but like some 2D stuff no matter what view point I take. I suspect that I might need to do some lighting and material setup. Can somebody give me an example doing the job. So far I don’t have to make it pretty, but need to make it work.

Thanks a lot!

Haoxiang Luo
UC San Diego

If you want lighting on, you can type these two lines into your initialisation…

glEnable(GL_LIGHTING);
glEnable(GL_LIGHT0);

The second part is that you’ll have to sepcify the normals for the triangles.

Given A triangle with vertices A,B & C. Perform a cross product between the vectors A->B & A->C. Normalise the resulting vector and plug the x,y & z into glNormal3f() before specifying the vertices.

ie,

void DrawTriangle( float x0,float y0, float z0,float x1, float y1, float z1, float x2, float y2, float z2)
{
float vec0[3],vec1[3],normal[3];
// calculate vectors A->B, A->C
vec0[0] = x1-x0;
vec0[1] = y1-y0;
vec0[2] = z1-z0;
vec1[0] = x2-x0;
vec1[1] = y2-y0;
vec1[2] = z2-z0;

// do cross product
normal[0] = vec0[1]*vec1[2] - vec0[2]*vec1[1];
normal[1] = vec0[2]*vec1[0] - vec0[0]*vec1[2];
normal[2] = vec0[0]*vec1[1] - vec0[1]*vec1[0];

// normalise vector
float l = sqrt( normal[0]*normal[0] + normal[1]*normal[1] + normal[2]*normal[2] );
normal[0] /= l;
normal[1] /= l;
normal[2] /= l;

// draw triangle
glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
glNormal3fv(normal);
glVertex3f(x0,y0,z0);
glVertex3f(x1,y1,z1);
glVertex3f(x2,y2,z2);
glEnd();
}