my card cant see opengl!!

ok, so i have a geforce fx 5200 graphics card. every time i try to play a game (half life, cs, DoD, soldier of fortune) i get the message: fatal error: error initializing gl driver, check that the file “opengl32.dll” exists. oh, it exists allright. i ran a search for it, its there. there is a copy in windows\system32 and one in windows\system32\drivers. maybe its not in the right place, or whatever is looking for it doesnt know where to look. ive tried going to nvidia’s website and updating the driver, ive tried going into the control panel and hitting update driver under my graphics cards options…nothing is working. im not very tech savvy at all. can anyone help?

Perfect! i have exactely the same problem you have! i tried lots of things like install again and again Steam or my CATALYST drivers, but nothing works! Ive got a ATI RADEON 9200 128Mo card, and ive got the same error message when i’m launching games!

Please help us! :frowning:

in have the same problem with my VisionTEK Xtasy 9200 pci card, i had the problem before i had this new card, which leads me to believe something is wrong, but not w/ the card

I didn’t have this problem before i format! So i don’t really understand the problem… someone can help us plz?? :frowning:

i found this:

do start
then run
then type win.ini
find the line that says DVA=0
put the “;” before it so it looks like ;DVA=0
save and close the file

and it works? :confused:

Heu… is it normal that i don’t find that line with DVA in the win.ini file??

i dont know i havent tried it yet on my pc, but i saw a post somewhere else that said i should do that

someone can help us, because it is a really boring problem, and also an important problem :frowning:

yeah, someone please help us…

ok i just tried to do the putting ; before DVA=0 thing, but i didnt see DVA=0 on there either. words cannot express my frustration, so i must use this red angry face instead: :mad: