Whats with the damn grey screen?

i just put my tnt2 m64 card in,downloaded detonator 3 v12.41 and everything else but i can’t get Q3 to work! pleeeeze help.

Check out the long thread about Q3.

sorry i’m new to all this.whats the long thread?

have you tryed your other opengl based games ?
does direct3d rendered games work?

OH jeez! Q2 did work now she don’t

if you are running win 2000 get latest sevice pack
make sure you have the via 4in1 patch(a must)
do not install agp in turbo mode use stanard
get your latest drivers for all your hardware (a must)especially nvidia refrence drivers
latest patchs for any games
go look for a bios update/flash that might have a solution to your problem.
(warning: if the bios flash readme dosent have fixes for any of your problems you dont have to flash, if you choose to flash BECAREFUL and heed all warnings)
even reinstall game if nessecery
if all that fails, format your drive and reinstall windows. try it in this order
#install windows
#install via 4in1 patch (not turbo mode)
#install direct x 8.0a
#install latest video drivers
#install rest of hardware
#then install some 3d apps, and cross your fingers(just kidding)it should work fine.
i had a simialar grey screen problem tryed everything to get it to work
only reinstalling windows in this order
worked all this info about installing in this order got it from magazines and websites

hmm,i got one step further tonite.no more grey screen but now i get as far as the menu screen and my screen is flickering and flashing lines everywhere and then it freezes.grrrr

F*#k reinstalling windows i cant even do this
imagine what would happen to my cpu if i did that.it would end up being a boat anchor for my dads punt.theres got to be a way

regular backing up of files and the reinstalling of windows is quite mandatory
for most power users.