PDA

View Full Version : Q3Arena & OpenGL



07-10-2000, 01:16 AM
Hello,

I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows NT.
My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE II+DVD (GT-B2U3)
Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

Thanks in advance.

midivox
07-12-2000, 08:50 AM
Hi, I get the exact same error message, with Win 98 and the Annihilator 2. I posted on the Q3 board, so will let you know if I hear from them, or get a fix. Going to try GLSetup today. And see if that works.
Happy Sounds
Timothy Kelly
midivox@healingmusic.net

07-26-2000, 01:49 AM
Nice to hear! Thank you!

dorbie
07-26-2000, 06:58 AM
The text seems to indicate that it can't find a pixel format descriptor suitable for running the game.

This is the framebuffer format, the types of things this includes are for example the color depth (eg 16 vs 32 bit color), zbuffer precision & stencil support.

I suggest that at least try reducing the desktop display resolution and see if this helps, it might make more PFD's available (especially when running in a window). Aside from that there are simple programs on the web which list PFD's for your system. You may have chosen too big a format at too high a resolution in the quake configuration menu which has caused this problem, "don't do that".

You may also be able to specify an explicit PFD via configuration files, but I'm not familiar enough with the Quake3 configuration.

dorbie
07-26-2000, 07:22 AM
P.S.

Try the display settings and make sure you have the display set to have lot's of colors, not something dumb like 256 colors.

craigp
07-27-2000, 09:33 PM
I get the same message, just with a few different numbers. I've got a Viper V770 Ultra under windows 98. I have tried changing the color depth and resolution and it still doesn't work. I've tried new drivers, old drivers, glsetup! Half life doesn't run under OpenGL, only directX and Soldier of Fortune doesn't run either!

08-05-2000, 01:52 AM
Same problem here. Have tried EVERYTHING short of reinstalling Windows. If anyone does find a fix (though I doubt it. I've been searching for a week and found about 500 people with the problem, 4 solutions, and none of them worked http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif
Strangest part is, Q3 used to work. OpenGL just stopped working one day. Thought it might have been a game or something.

08-06-2000, 01:15 AM
Have you really tried the formula described under the topics "finally my opengl works"
First of all try the win ini DV0 thing as described in the topic.

teramos
08-11-2000, 10:00 PM
Originally posted by quake3:
Hello,

I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows NT.
My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE II+DVD (GT-B2U3)
Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )

teramos
08-11-2000, 10:01 PM
Originally posted by quake3:
Hello,

I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows 98.
My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE IIC
Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...23 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (640x480)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
...27 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )