Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: One Application is showing Version 1.1.0 and other 4.4.0

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    7

    One Application is showing Version 1.1.0 and other 4.4.0

    Hi,

    My PC has following configuration,
    1. windows 7 OS
    2. GTForce 610 Graphic Card

    Now I download one sample application for VBO test purpose.
    In that application My OpenGL version shows as 4.4.0

    Now I already have an application which is already using openGL lib so that I want to upgrade to VBO for rendering.
    but when I update my code same as sample application it shows me a 1.1.0 version. so that I was unable to use VBO.

    Help Me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro Ilian Dinev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    1,290
    We need to see the code for context-creation. Somehow you end-up using the Microsoft software renderer.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    7
    I am using wglCreateContext method in both application.
    4.4.0 using createWindow function for creating dialog by window programming
    1.1.0 using latest MFC code and load openGL in view.

  4. #4
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro Ilian Dinev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    1,290
    Then something's wrong with the MFC code; e.g choosing indexed 8-bit palette drawing and other obsolete things a modern driver/gpu shouldn't care about. I don't have the MFC code nearby anymore, so I can't see what it's doing.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    7
    I developed application in Visual studio 2008
    and created SDI application now i want to use VBO in View Class.

    Driver is not an issue because in other application it shows 4.4.0 version.

  6. #6
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro Ilian Dinev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    1,290
    That's what I also said. MFC is causing the issue by requesting an incredibly-obsolete PixelFormat configuration, that only the ancient GL1.1 software rasterizer supports. You need to fix MFC's code or something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •