OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Show function on the surface of a sphere

Junior Member Newbie

Show function on the surface of a sphere

Hey Guys!

I'm a absolute beginner in OpenGL. I have created a sphere with the help of tutorials. Now i would like to display a function on the surface of the sphere. This means for every point (x,y,z) on the surface of the sphere i compute a scalar value f(xi,yi,zi) = si and assign a color to this value.

Do someone of you know a tutorial that shows how to achieve this or can explain it to me?

Thanks in advance,

AeRoOo

Junior Member Regular Contributor
    I have created a sphere with the help of tutorials. Now i would like to display a function on the surface of the sphere. This means for every point (x,y,z) on the surface of the sphere i compute a scalar value f(xi,yi,zi) = si and assign a color to this value.
    Depends on what you mean by 'create'. Did you use gluSphere, or did you define surface polygons by computing the coordinates of the vertices?

Junior Member Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by Carmine View Post
    Depends on what you mean by 'create'. Did you use gluSphere, or did you define surface polygons by computing the coordinates of the vertices?
    I created it with gluSphere. Is this good / bad?

I created it with gluSphere. Is this good / bad?
    Neither good or bad. What I would try to do in this situation is texture map the sphere with an image onto which you plot your function. gluSpheres have texture coordinates assigned, so you don't have to worry about that. You will have to convert (xi, yi, zi) into 2D image coordinates, generate the image, then map it onto the sphere. As a first step, try mapping any image onto the surface of the sphere. If you can do that, it will be very easy to map images you generate onto the sphere.