Screenshot using Cocoa

Hello,

I am moving my code from GLUT to Cocoa (where I am a newbie), but I really like that GLUT on OSX allows you to copy a screenshot to the pasteboard just hitting cmd-c. The code below does that in a method belonging to a subclass of NSOpenGLView. It is largely a patchwork of ideas, which I found online.

Q: Could this have been achieved simpler? In particular, without resorting to a low level for loop and perhaps just cloning the first image rather than constructing a new bitmap image? Spawning a new process, I could probably do it with just a few lines, but that would probably be a rather heavy operation.

Thanks
Andreas

-(IBAction)save_window_to_pasteboard:(id)sender
{

NSPasteboard *pb = [NSPasteboard generalPasteboard];

// Telling the pasteboard what type of data we're going to send in
    [pb declareTypes:[NSArray arrayWithObjects:NSPasteboardTypePNG,nil] owner:self];

NSRect backRect = [self convertRectToBacking: [self bounds]];
    NSSize sz;
    sz.width = NSWidth(backRect);
    sz.height = NSHeight(backRect);

NSBitmapImageRep *rep = [[NSBitmapImageRep alloc] initWithBitmapDataPlanes: NULL
                                                                    pixelsWide: sz.width
                                                                    pixelsHigh: sz.height
                                                                 bitsPerSample: 8
                                                               samplesPerPixel: 3
                                                                      hasAlpha: NO
                                                                      isPlanar: NO
                                                                colorSpaceName: NSCalibratedRGBColorSpace
                                                                   bytesPerRow: 0                // indicates no empty bytes at row end
                                                                  bitsPerPixel: 0];