Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Thread: Uniform Buffer Objects, dynamic sized arrays and lights

Hybrid View

Junior Member Newbie

Uniform Buffer Objects, dynamic sized arrays and lights

Hello, I'm new to this forum as a poster. I tried making the title as descriptive as possible so here goes:

I'm new to UBOs and I've seen many different implementations and I don't think none of them serves my purpose and/or I can't understand UBOs completely. In my application, I have a number of lights that isn't fixed. I'd like to feed them to the GPU so I can use them in the shader code. Bonus: I'd prefer to have lights stored in the GPU much like the VBOs, where I just need to bind the buffer's ID (GLuint) to use it. The trick is that even if this is possible, you'd have to bind several UBOs, one for each light and bind a certain index to them so that it maps to the array on the shader code. Is there any way to do this?

Right now, I'm looking at having my fragment shader like this:

Code :
    struct Light {
       vec3 position;
       float padding;
    }
    layout (std140) uniform Lights {
       Light light[];
    }

and then iterating through the lights. This dynamic allocation of arrays is possible in 4.3 as far as I know. However, I have problems in the C++ code:

Initialization:
    Code :
    glGenBuffers(1,&m_lightsUBO); // this generates UBO, OK
    glBindBuffer(GL_UNIFORM_BUFFER, m_lightsUBO); // this binds it, OK
    glBufferData(GL_UNIFORM_BUFFER, /*size*/, /*data*/, GL_DYNAMIC_DRAW); // this allocates space for the UBO. 
    glBindBufferRange(GL_UNIFORM_BUFFER, /*buffer index*/, m_lightsUBO, 0, /*size*/); // this binds UBO to Buffer Index