Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SDK Premake4 Issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    SDK Premake4 Issue

    I've been unable to build the sdk's libraries via premake4, however I've managed to build other tutorials just fine.
    I'm using "premake4 gmake" in order to build the makefile, however it never gets past
    "checking whether make sets $<MAKE>..."

    I'm on Windows 8 and using MinGW, does anyone know what is going wrong?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,948
    I've managed to build other tutorials just fine.
    That's not actually possible. If the SDK libraries don't build, the tutorials won't build either. And conversely, if the tutorials built, the SDK must have built successfully.

    If you can run the tutorials, then you did everything fine. Somehow.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfonse Reinheart View Post
    That's not actually possible. If the SDK libraries don't build, the tutorials won't build either. And conversely, if the tutorials built, the SDK must have built successfully.

    If you can run the tutorials, then you did everything fine. Somehow.
    No makefile was generated for the sdk and the premake4 process never got past "checking whether make sets $<MAKE>...", while a makefile was generated for the tutorials and the process completed. If this is "working" then maybe I'm misunderstanding something.
    On a side note, the tutorials that build correctly are from www.arcsynthesis.org/gltut, not part of the sdk package. I'm sorry if that was not clear.

  4. #4
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,948
    while a makefile was generated for the tutorials and the process completed.
    What do you mean by "the process"? Do you mean that Premake4 finished, or that Premake4 finished and you successfully built the resulting makefile? Because Premake4 is just the start.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfonse Reinheart View Post
    What do you mean by "the process"? Do you mean that Premake4 finished, or that Premake4 finished and you successfully built the resulting makefile? Because Premake4 is just the start.
    The process of building the makefile using premake4.

  6. #6
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,948
    Try editing the `freeglut.lua` file in the `freeglut` directory under `glsdk`, replacing the text with this:

    Code :
    if(_ACTION == "gmake") then
    	if(os.get() == "linux" or os.get() == "bsd") then
    		os.execute("sh ./configure");
    	end
    end
     
    project "freeglut"
    	kind "StaticLib"
    	language "c"
    	includedirs {"include"}
    	targetdir "lib"
    	files {"src/*.c"};
     
    	defines {"FREEGLUT_STATIC", "_LIB", "FREEGLUT_LIB_PRAGMAS=0"}
     
    	configuration "windows"
    		defines "WIN32"
     
    	configuration {"gmake", "linux or bsd"}
            defines {"HAVE_CONFIG_H", }
            includedirs {"."}
     
    	configuration "Debug"
    		targetsuffix "D"
    		defines "_DEBUG"
    		flags "Symbols"
     
    	configuration "Release"
    		defines "NDEBUG"
    		flags {"OptimizeSpeed", "NoFramePointer", "ExtraWarnings", "NoEditAndContinue"};

  7. #7
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    That worked, thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •