Drawing a single pixel

hi!
i’m beginner here. i’m trying to draw a single pixel but i couldn’t.
my source code here.

#include<windows.h>
#include<stdio.h>
#include <GL/gl.h>
#include <GL/glu.h>
//#include <GLUT/glut.h>
#include <GL/glut.h>

#include <stdlib.h>

void display(void)
{
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
glColor3f(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);
glBegin(GL_POINT);
glVertex3f(100.0f, 100.0f, -25.0f);
glEnd();
glFlush();

}
void init(void)
{
glClearColor(0, 0, 0, 0);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
}

int main()
{
//glutInit(&argc, argv);
//glInitDisplayMode(GLUT_SINGLE| GLUT_RGB);
glutInitWindowSize(500,500);
glutInitWindowPosition (100, 100);
glutCreateWindow (“hello”);
init ();
glutDisplayFunc(display);

glutMainLoop();
return 0;

}

can any one help me please???

Hello,

with your projection matrix being the identity, you can only draw points inside of [-1…1]^3, so your point at (100,100,-25) is outside of the view. Additional tip: Unless you have a very good reason to use the fixed-function pipeline, don’t waste your time on learning it, look for modern OpenGL 3.0 (or later) tutorials. glBegin/glEnd and fixed function won’t get you far.

There are multiple errors in your code - actually posting code like that is considered an error on this forum as well. Please read the forum posting guidelines before starting a new topic.

The following may sound harsh but you obviously dived into graphics programming with any theoretical foundation.

First of all, what’s your projection matrix? It’s the identity! And the identity will not alter the coordinates of your point in any way thus it will be at the same coordinates after perspective divide (because w is still 1), thus outisde the canonical volume, thusautomatically clipped and thus not rasterized at all.