Animation

Hi everyone,

I am new to OpenGL and the forums and have searched for some topics on animating objects without finding any conclusive information for my question.

I use 3DS Max to model my 3D content and animate it with keyframes. (I am still relatively new to the animating part).
I can export these models to most file formats and have been working on loading .obj files to render my statjc models with OpenGL.

My question is, how do I export models AND animations from 3DS Max so that I may render these animations with OpenGL?
More specifically, what file format is most-widely used in the industry to store animation data, and how is this data stored?
How would I then go about parsing this data and applying the proper transformations to my vertex data in OpenGL to create the animation?

I have looked at lib3ds but would like a more hands on, comprehensive understanding of this process with as little 3rd party software as possible.
Also, in a similar post I read about the Wavefront Animation Studio software suite for animating .obj files, but would like to create my animations in 3DS Max and export them from there.

Thank you in advance for all your help!

• Alex

As far as I know .obj doesnt support animation.
As for loading the animations and models, I suggest using assimp http://assimp.sourceforge.net/.
You can get the model and animation data out quite easily.

[QUOTE=Bloodust;1239633]As far as I know .obj doesnt support animation.
As for loading the animations and models, I suggest using assimp http://assimp.sourceforge.net/.
You can get the model and animation data out quite easily.[/QUOTE]

Yes, I know .obj does not support animation. That is why I am asking for what file formats do support animation / can animations be stored in a separate file.
I don’t know much about how animations are stored so I don’t really know how to ask the questions.

Can you explain to me the concepts behind storing animation data?