please help me to control my game speed

hello

i am new in game programming, i use openGL with c++, my problem is controling my game speed.

when i run the game program in vc++ after i start my PC, it goes in a regular speed in the first time but if i run it again, often it goes very speed, my game release also goes very speed, so i hope you can help me in controling the speed for the game.

thank you in advance.

Decouple game logic from your rendering loop. Perhaps use a timer to call the game logic every 30ms or something.

I’d use ctime.h and Windows.h, for the commands clock() and Sleep(somenumber), respectively.

clock() returns the time in milliseconds, and Sleep(somenumber) waits for a number of milliseconds. Using these two functions, you can regulate the framerate:

int lastTick=clock();
int fps=30;

function updateDelay()
{
     int elapsed=clock()-lastTick;
     if(elapsed<1000/fps)
          Sleep((1000/fps)-elapsed);
     lastTick=clock();
}

Also, I’m guessing english isn’t your first language, so as a tip: speed is a noun, fast is an adjective, so,
“but if I run it again, often it goes very fast, my game release also goes very fast, so I hope you can help me in controlling the speed for the game.”
(just helping, not being a grammar nazi xD)

I wouldn’t use Sleep in a game loop. Sleep doesn’t guarantee that you’re going to sleep for the time you specify; that’s just a minimum guaranteed time. You could sleep for that amount of time, or you could sleep for a whole lot longer. The timer resolution is also low by default, so Sleep (1) may actually end up sleeping for 10 or more milliseconds.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms686298%28v=vs.85%29.aspx

Note that a ready thread is not guaranteed to run immediately. Consequently, the thread may not run until some time after the sleep interval elapses.