Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Point Sprites & AMD

  1. #1
    Member Regular Contributor Nowhere-01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Novosibirsk
    Posts
    251

    Point Sprites & AMD

    Hey, i'm searching for more recent info about gl_point_sprite support with AMD/ATI cards... Is it still broken under windows?

    I've seen few older posts on forums claiming there are tex.coord problems.

  2. #2
    Senior Member OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,948

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    Do you have a link to those posts? In what way was it broken?

  3. #3
    Member Regular Contributor Nowhere-01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Novosibirsk
    Posts
    251

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    http://www.gamedev.net/topic/525643-...on-windowsati/

    http://forums.amd.com/forum/messagev...hreadid=129431 (multiple questions, seems like second one with code sample is unresolved or resolution unreported).

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...&id=602183

    Main reason i'm afraid to waste time on this extension is 1st link. There's one obviously not-a-noob and a developer team couldn't get it to work properly. But it was 2009.

  4. #4
    Intern Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    78

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    The point sprites sample here works fine on my Radeon HD 5500 series card using the latest drivers (Cat. 11.5b).

  5. #5
    Member Regular Contributor Nowhere-01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Novosibirsk
    Posts
    251

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    Thank you for letting know. Hope i'll get more positive responses. Sorry for offtopic, but i have one more question about point sprites:

    I don't need to sort them myself to avoid clipping each other, right?

    I did my own implementation for particles(just textured quads), but they aren't billboard, because i have no idea how to sort them _fast_ relatively to camera. Look good(made them very customizable), but without billboarding they're halfa$$. And they kinda work for my current project, but for future, i want something better and faster.

  6. #6
    Member Regular Contributor malexander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    319

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    I don't need to sort them myself to avoid clipping each other, right?
    That depends on whether your sprites are cutouts (alpha 0 or 1) or transparent. If they're cutouts, you can draw them normally using the Z buffer. If they're partially transparent, then you'll need to depth-sort them on the CPU and draw them back-to-front, or use a limited number of depth-peel passes to achieve the desired look. The number of passes will depend on the opacity of the sprites (more opaque sprites will require fewer passes than nearly transparent sprites in order to look correct). Depth sorting on the CPU is acceptable if you have a small number of sprites (<100,000 say), otherwise you'll probably need to depth peel.

  7. #7
    Member Regular Contributor Nowhere-01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Novosibirsk
    Posts
    251

    Re: Point Sprites & AMD

    Thanks, i'm not gonna use point(less) sprites then. Gonna adopt a better sorting algorithm(my is n^2, thats why i have problems getting it real-time). Also not sure how to express camera position affect on particle order certainly(with billboarding enabled).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •