OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mobile Intel 965 express chipset family

Junior Member Newbie

Mobile Intel 965 express chipset family

Hi guys,
    I recently started learning Photoshop CS5 and I am encountered with a problem which is directly related to openGL.
    I have an Acer laptop and it's not so great but it has Mobile Intel 965 express chipset family graphic card (to be more exact: Mobile Intel Graphics Media Accelerator x3100).
    I know that that's not a great graphic card but after some googling I found that openGL is supported by this graphic card at this link: http://www.intel.com/technology/graphics/gma.htm
    It's actually written that my graphic card supports openGL 2.0
    However, when I open Photoshop and try to for ex rotate a pic it can't be done because it says I don't have openGL.
    I've been googling for 2 days but I can't find the solution.
    Would somebody be so kind as to help with this problem?

Advanced Member Frequent Contributor

Re: Mobile Intel 965 express chipset family

To find out if it is just Photoshop or a driver issue get this: GPU Caps Viewer, it is a small program that tells what GL version your system claims it has and what extensions.

From there you will know if it is a system or Photoshop issue. For the former, best hope is to google for Intel drivers for your gfx chipset and OS.

Senior Member OpenGL Pro

You most likely have a custom OEM driver that doesn't have OpenGL support included. Download and install the latest Intel driver from http://www.intel.com, implement the fix for when you're told that the driver can't be installed (also available on the Intel website) and you'll be good to go.

Junior Member Newbie

Thanks guys.
    I instaled GPU Caps Viewer and it shows that my graphic card supports openGL version 2.0.