Model and World Coordinates

I’m getting a bit confused here, I think.

If I have a shader that distorts the geometry of several discrete plane meshes, is it possible to treat them as if they share a common coordinate space?

For example, I have a number of separate plane meshes arranged as an array of thin vertical strips, spread over the x-axis, with gaps inbetween them. I’d like to be able to bend each strip around so that collectively, they form a sphere, made up of bands, with gaps between them, somewhat like the screenshot below (but without the distortion, which I’ll add later).

What I currently get, though, is a number of small identical spheres. I’m assuming this is because each plane is treated as if it has it’s own coordinate system. Is there a way of using a global space, so that their geometries are transformed collectively, rather than individually?

Sorry this is a really basic question, but I’m new to Vertex Shaders.

Cheers,

alx
blog http://machinesdontcare.wordpress.com

I’ve used a similar technique to render bezier surfaces. http://lumina.sourceforge.net/Tutorials/Bezier_Surface.html The vertexshader uses two steps: The first transforms the quad into a bezier patch, and the last projects the vertex into modelview projection space.

Hi oc2k1,

thanks for the link, looks intriguing. I haven’t used beziers at all so far, just a really simple Sphere primitive, and a striped texture applied. I do love smooth curves though, so I’ll give the tutorial a go.

Thanks again,

alx

You need to think in terms of having 2 matrices :

• an object matrix, which transforms vertices from object space to world space
  • a camera matrix, which transforms vertices from world space to camera space.

Do either of you (or anyone else) know of any good introductory material to this subject? I think I have some reading to do!

alx

The OpenGL Red Book’s Viewing chapter has a pretty nice description, conveniently described in terms of the OpenGL API.