OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beginning OpenGLSL

Junior Member Newbie

Beginning OpenGLSL

Ok i have a question.
    If i want to use an extension, i have to check if my graphicscard does support this extension then i need functionpointers to use the new functions. My question is:
    Do i need to have functionpointers for every new funtion which is provided by OpenGLSL. There are so many new functions i cannot believe that this is the only way to use OpenGLSL. Which files do i have to include??? I am a newbie to OpenGLSL and i try to get started using OpenGLSL. Please help me. Thanks.

Member Regular Contributor

Re: Beginning OpenGLSL

You will need a function pointer for every function you are going to use.
    Here you can find a tutorial of how to use extensions: http://developer.nvidia.com/object/o..._tutorial.html

Here are some tutorials for GLSL: http://www.clockworkcoders.com/oglsl/tutorials.html
    There is a theory which states that if ever anybody discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

There is another theory which states that this has already happened...

Junior Member Newbie

And which are the functions i have to have a pointer to in order to use OpenGLSL?

There is a theory which states that if ever anybody discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

There is another theory which states that this has already happened...

Junior Member Newbie

Do i realy need all functions? And are the tokens automaticly linked to my program or do i have to rewrite a file including all the tokens???