Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11

    64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    Will a 64-bit version of OpenGL be available for the 64-bit version of XP for the AMD chipset? If so, will it be OpenGL 2.0?

    Will the necessary include files, libs, dlls, etc. be provided for developers by Microsoft or from another source?

    Will a software only version be available as with OpenGL 1.1? This support is vital for diagnosing driver problems.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    183

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    Originally posted by A Developer:
    Will a 64-bit version of OpenGL be available for the 64-bit version of XP for the AMD chipset? If so, will it be OpenGL 2.0?

    Will the necessary include files, libs, dlls, etc. be provided for developers by Microsoft or from another source?

    Will a software only version be available as with OpenGL 1.1? This support is vital for diagnosing driver problems.
    There's no change in the ICD model for win64, both software rendering and hardware ICDs are supported. The headers and .lib files should come with the Windows SDK or with your compiler of choice; the opengl32 .dlls, as always, come with the OS and ICDs should come from your graphics card vendor.

    In Win64 OpenGL can work under the wow64 compatibility layer (for 32-bit applications), or in native 64-bit (for native 64-bit apps).
    In any case, for hw accelerated OpenGL you are going to need a 64-bit display driver from your graphics card manufacturer (all kernel drivers are 64-bit in Win64) and a 32-bit and a 64-bit ICDs.
    Software rendering for 32-bit and 64-bit apps should work straight out-of-the-box.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    OpenGL on Windows is currently a 32 bit graphics engine. What I need is a 64 bit graphics engine that will allow the internals of OpenGL to maintain full double precision numbers. Even though you can push coordinates down as double precision to OpenGL, internally they get converted to single precision. So instead of upto 15 significant digits, the numbers are truncated to 7 significant digits.

    Will there be an "OpenGL64.dll" that allows the internal computations done by OpenGL to stay in full double precision?

    It appears that full 64 bit versions of OpenGL are available on 64-bit Linux...

  4. #4
    Junior Member Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    183

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    Originally posted by A Developer:
    OpenGL on Windows is currently a 32 bit graphics engine. What I need is a 64 bit graphics engine that will allow the internals of OpenGL to maintain full double precision numbers. Even though you can push coordinates down as double precision to OpenGL, internally they get converted to single precision. So instead of upto 15 significant digits, the numbers are truncated to 7 significant digits.

    Will there be an "OpenGL64.dll" that allows the internal computations done by OpenGL to stay in full double precision?

    It appears that full 64 bit versions of OpenGL are available on 64-bit Linux...
    I would like to see those "full 64 bit versions of OpenGL": Most graphic cards don't support 64-bit calculations, so even if the matrix multiplies inside the ICD were done in doubles, hw T & L would still operate in singles and the geometry has to be converted into singles before being consumed by the graphics card.

    You will have to resort to a software renderer, maybe Mesa's offscreen renderer supports also double calculations :?

    BTW, the fact that the calculation is done in doubles or in singles, has nothing to do with the ICD being a 64-bit or 32-bit binary (in fact in x87, operations are carried away internally in 80-bit, but the results are rounded/truncated to the desired precision when spilled out to memory).

  5. #5
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    That's really interesting that most cards can't handle 64-bit calculations. That would imply that 64-bit DirectX isn't fully 64-bit once it gets out to hardware acceleration on the card.

    It is a pity though, 15 digit coordinate precision would be helpful.

  6. #6
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bonn, Germany
    Posts
    1,633

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    Of course not. Software being "64 bit" just refers to its operating model on the CPU. Ie pointers and integer registers are (or at the very least are allowed to be) 64 bits wide.

    64 bit floating point calculations were available since the early days of math coprocessors (287!?) and noone ever talked about "64 bit software" because of that.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator OpenGL Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,264

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    It also refers to the instructions for the CPU.
    Nothing to do with the FPU. A CPU need not have a FPU integrated at all and not much reason to have double in GPUs. It would be a waste of silicon.
    ------------------------------
    Sig: http://glhlib.sourceforge.net
    an open source GLU replacement library. Much more modern than GLU.
    float matrix[16], inverse_matrix[16];
    glhLoadIdentityf2(matrix);
    glhTranslatef2(matrix, 0.0, 0.0, 5.0);
    glhRotateAboutXf2(matrix, angleInRadians);
    glhScalef2(matrix, 1.0, 1.0, -1.0);
    glhQuickInvertMatrixf2(matrix, inverse_matrix);
    glUniformMatrix4fv(uniformLocation1, 1, FALSE, matrix);
    glUniformMatrix4fv(uniformLocation2, 1, FALSE, inverse_matrix);

  8. #8
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    china
    Posts
    3

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    quote
    --------------------------------------------
    There's no change in the ICD model for win64, both software rendering and hardware ICDs are supported. The headers and .lib files should come with the Windows SDK or with your compiler of choice; the opengl32 .dlls, as always, come with the OS and ICDs should come from your graphics card vendor.

    In Win64 OpenGL can work under the wow64 compatibility layer (for 32-bit applications), or in native 64-bit (for native 64-bit apps).
    In any case, for hw accelerated OpenGL you are going to need a 64-bit display driver from your graphics card manufacturer (all kernel drivers are 64-bit in Win64) and a 32-bit and a 64-bit ICDs.
    Software rendering for 32-bit and 64-bit apps should work straight out-of-the-box.
    --------------------------------------------
    what is ICDs?
    what is hw accelerated ?

  9. #9
    Senior Member OpenGL Pro
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Bonn, Germany
    Posts
    1,633

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    ICD = installable client driver. The OpenGL implementation proper, which you get from your graphics chip vendor.

    hardware accelerated = faster than a software emulation of OpenGL
    OpenGL is implemented on top of a hardware device and uses its capabilities to accelerate rendering.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3

    Re: 64-bit OpenGL for 64-bit Windows XP (AMD)?

    Hi,

    Can anybody tell me this

    I have been reading that there should be 2 ICD drivers in a x64 graphics driver.

    i have a nVidia graphics adapter and a ATI graphics adapter

    When i use the ATI graphics adapter on XP64 Build 1184 i have 2 ICD drivers 8.01
    1.\Windows\System32\atio6axx.dll 64-Bit GL
    2.\Windows\SysWow64\atioglxx.dll 32-Bit GL

    When i use the nVdia graphics adapter on XP64 Build 1184 i have only 1 ICD driver 57.30
    1.\Windows\System32\nvoglnt.dll 64-Bit GL

    But when i run e.g. Quake3(32-Bit GL) the game works, how does the nVidia driver do that? When there is no 32-Bit GL driver in \Windows\SysWow64???

    Also when i extract the file nVidia 57.30 package i only see 1 GL driver file.
    While i do see 2 GL driver files when extracting the ATI 8.01 package

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •