glut problem

I am a beginner, obviously. When I tried to run my very first program (which is actually a sample code I found in the internet) in vc++ everything compiled fine with no errors. But, when I tried to run to program I got from the executable dos window
“glut:C:…(the location): pixel format with necessary capabilities not found”.
May somebody help me fix this please! thank you!
Evans

It seems that you have not installed your graphics card.

What pixel format does that program need ?

your best choice is to go your graphics card’s homepage (www.nvidia.com, etc) and download the newest driver for windows.

If that doesn’t work, then your graphics card is probably no good (or something else is seriously wrong).

Is your graphics burned on to the motherboard? I am coming across the exact same GLUT error message on a P4 Dell PC using an Intel 945G driver running a fog program in color-index mode. This PC has the graphics burned on to the motherboard.

It could be the graphics chipset drivers may be incapable of color-index mode.

In addition, you may want to plant some printf functions or use cout statements in the code to trap which GLUT function is causing the problem.

When I did this, the problem was at the following statement in the main function:
glutCreateWindow(argv[0]);

glutCreateWindow() appears to cause problems regardless of what type PC is running it.

It seems Win32 doesn’t appear to have this problem because it has functions capable of color-index mode because of the pixel format descriptor.

I’ll need to check further and see if GLUT has a capability to develop a pixel format descriptor before creating a window.

OK, I have found a solution to the GLUT problem with glutCreateWindow().