i am having trouble in VC++ 6

Hi i am trying to get some tutorials from nehe and ultimategameprogramming to work but when i try to build my exe file i get this error:

Linking…
LIBCD.lib(crt0.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _main
Debug/openGLEx.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
Error executing link.exe.

I am running VC++ 6.0. I have included the three header files opengl32, glu32.lib and glaux.lib.

I am new to opengl and am very sorry for be a pain in the arse but if u could help it would be very much appreciated.

This topic should best fits in the Windows forum. Anyway, there are 2 options for you:

1. you use OpenGL32.lib then you’ll need a windows api (so with WinMain, WinProc and such) and link with the windows library. Beware: no main function is allowed in this situation, but you’ll have a full Windows window.

2. don’t use OpenGL32.lib but OpenGL.lib, glut.lib (not the *32). Then you’ll be able to use the standard main function. However you’ll have a DOS window.

Also, avoid using glaux, and prefer glut instead.

The real problem is that you started your project as a Console project, but your code assumes a WinApp project.

Remember the following and you should be fine.

Console projects = main entry point.
WinApp projects = WinMain entry point.

If your source code uses WinMain, start a WinApp project. If your source code uses main, start a Console project.

the real problem… :cool: well surely. :slight_smile:

Heheh, well… there is nothing about either opengl32.lib or opengl.lib that make them unusable in either type of project. Libraries don’t, and shouldn’t, care anything about the entry point of a project.

It’s actually pretty common for an app linked to opengl32.lib to have an entry point of main. Most apps that use glut, SDL, or any number of other windowing systems typically do that.

Originally posted by Deiussum: