Can't use GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV

Before I get flamed I’ll state that I’m new to this and am now tired of searching the web to no avail.
The problem: I’m trying to compile the HDR sample code that comes with the nVidia SDK, also available at https://jogl-demos.dev.java.net/. After a whole day of arrangements the only error that keeps popping out is that GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV is undeclared in as simple a line as ‘glEnable(GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV);’.
My import list includes glh_extensions.h, glh_glut.h, glut.h, cgGL.h and glext.h as well as some others that don’t seem to be from OpenGL or GLUT.
I don’t know if I’m missing a library or what, I have tried impoting glew.h too and it makes the other libraries not to compile.
Thanks for any help.

i think it is GL_NV_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM, not GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV. just take a look into the header files. btw, GL_NV_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM is a bit obsolete, there is a GL_ARB_fragment_program.

I have tried GL_ARB_fragment_program plus some variations on the name of the GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV and it still does not compile. I checked glext.h per your suggestion and it’s got a clear: ‘#define GL_FRAGMENT_PROGRAM_NV 0x8870’.
So I keep trying.

Check that the correct glext.h is used by the compiler. Some compilers have their own version of the glext.h and gl.h files, which is usually very old.

I downloaded the glext.h file from www.opengl.org and added the include myself so as to avoid such kind of errors. And I mean that the include wasn’t in the original. The original only includes glh_extensions.h, glh_glut.h, glut.h cgGL.h plus other libraries form nVidia.

Originally posted by X:
I downloaded the glext.h file from www.opengl.org and added the include myself so as to avoid such kind of errors.