Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Thread: glut vs. Win32 vs. MFC

Intern Contributor

glut vs. Win32 vs. MFC

I have some experience with openGL under glut, MFC, and vanilla Win32 and I was wondering if anyone had strong opinions about the pro's and con's of the different approaches to windowing.

I am about to start a fairly large OpenGL project which will entail doing some interactive virtual worlds sort of stuff with lots of wacky, off-the-beaten-path input/output devices.

Intern Contributor

Re: glut vs. Win32 vs. MFC

Oh yeah, I guess I should add that my application will probably spend most or all of its time in a full-screen mode, which means I'm not needing to use any Windows GUI widgets.
    I'm kind of leaning towards glut, but I thought I'd see if anyone had compelling arguments to the contrary.

Advanced Member Frequent Contributor

I wouldn't bother with MFC in this case; it doesn't gain you anything and it creates a hell of a mess.

GLUT is pretty good in most respects, but a couple of points to bear in mind:

1) Although you can run fullscreen in glut 3.7, you can't actually change screenmode (i.e. resolution or colour depth).

2) glut's support for input controllers is a bit limited (only recognizes 2 joystick axes, and I think buttons are quite limited as well). You may be able to use input device APIs alongside glut though - anybody tried this?

3) You can't get at the message pump. Some performance impact, but not a huge one.

If these are OK, go with glut. Otherwise, you're probably better off with vanilla Win32.

Junior Member Regular Contributor

Totally agree with MikeC except on 1. You can change resolution with GLUT 3.7. Although I haven't found any docs on it, but after looking in the source... try this:

void glutGameModeString(const char *string);
    int glutEnterGameMode(void);
    void glutLeaveGameMode(void);