Part of the Khronos Group
OpenGL.org

The Industry's Foundation for High Performance Graphics

from games to virtual reality, mobile phones to supercomputers

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Q3Arena & OpenGL

  1. #1
    Guest

    Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Hello,

    I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows NT.
    My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE II+DVD (GT-B2U3)
    Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )
    -----------------------
    GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    5

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Hi, I get the exact same error message, with Win 98 and the Annihilator 2. I posted on the Q3 board, so will let you know if I hear from them, or get a fix. Going to try GLSetup today. And see if that works.
    Happy Sounds
    Timothy Kelly
    midivox@healingmusic.net
    MidiVox Voice to Midi
    Songs Just 4 You
    Love is a Sound Records

  3. #3
    Guest

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Nice to hear! Thank you!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator OpenGL Guru dorbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,946

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    The text seems to indicate that it can't find a pixel format descriptor suitable for running the game.

    This is the framebuffer format, the types of things this includes are for example the color depth (eg 16 vs 32 bit color), zbuffer precision & stencil support.

    I suggest that at least try reducing the desktop display resolution and see if this helps, it might make more PFD's available (especially when running in a window). Aside from that there are simple programs on the web which list PFD's for your system. You may have chosen too big a format at too high a resolution in the quake configuration menu which has caused this problem, "don't do that".

    You may also be able to specify an explicit PFD via configuration files, but I'm not familiar enough with the Quake3 configuration.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator OpenGL Guru dorbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,946

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    P.S.

    Try the display settings and make sure you have the display set to have lot's of colors, not something dumb like 256 colors.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    I get the same message, just with a few different numbers. I've got a Viper V770 Ultra under windows 98. I have tried changing the color depth and resolution and it still doesn't work. I've tried new drivers, old drivers, glsetup! Half life doesn't run under OpenGL, only directX and Soldier of Fortune doesn't run either!

  7. #7
    Guest

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Same problem here. Have tried EVERYTHING short of reinstalling Windows. If anyone does find a fix (though I doubt it. I've been searching for a week and found about 500 people with the problem, 4 solutions, and none of them worked
    Strangest part is, Q3 used to work. OpenGL just stopped working one day. Thought it might have been a game or something.

  8. #8
    Guest

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Have you really tried the formula described under the topics "finally my opengl works"
    First of all try the win ini DV0 thing as described in the topic.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    peru
    Posts
    2

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Originally posted by quake3:
    Hello,

    I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows NT.
    My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE II+DVD (GT-B2U3)
    Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )

  10. #10
    Junior Member Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    peru
    Posts
    2

    Re: Q3Arena & OpenGL

    Originally posted by quake3:
    Hello,

    I want to run Quake3Arena under Windows 98.
    My video chip is ATI 3D RAGE IIC
    Unfortuantelly I've faced with OpenGL Problem. The initialization routine shows the following diagnostic messages:

    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...23 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...setting mode 3: 640 480 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window@0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 8, 16, 0 )
    ...27 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ----- CL_Shutdown -----
    RE_Shutdown( 1 )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •