PDA

View Full Version : glDrawTransformFeedback() fails on nVidia



Morlad
10-21-2010, 12:03 PM
When using DrawTransformFeedback on a GTX460 [Win7 64bit, OpenGL 3.3, latest release driver, up to the latest beta driver (260.93)] nothing is drawn but GL_INVALID_OPERATION is generated.
According to the spec GL_INVALID_OPERATION is only generated if EndTransformFeedback has not been called before, while the TFO was bound. But thatís what I actually do.

Unfortunately I don't have another nVidia card to test the code, but on a Radeon 3850 it works as expected. So I assume that it is a driver-bug.
It may very well be the same problem as reported by _MaB_ here: NVidia - transform feedback issue ??? (http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=283941)

I'd really like to submit a bug report, but from what I've found on nVidia's webpage, the only way to do so is by registering as a developer. I tried to do so, but after submitting the application-form only a blank page was returned by the server. I sent an E-mail to devrelfeedback@nvidia.com afterward to ask if my application actually found its way into their system, so they could process it, but without luck. No response to my E-mail in over one week.
Is there any other way to submit a bug report?

Thanks for any advice.

Piers Daniell
11-09-2010, 02:20 PM
Does this happen on the latest drivers? Can you share a small repro app?

Morlad
11-16-2010, 10:35 AM
It doesn't work with the 260.99 drivers either.
I'll try to put together a simple repro app over the coming weekend.

Morlad
11-22-2010, 02:36 PM
Well, I tried to create a test application exhibiting the behaviour I reported in my initial post.
But Iíve failed to achieve that, because the test application never failed.

Thus I turned the whole thing around and replaced the relevant code in my original program with the one from the working test application. And lo, itís all working now. Unfortunately I canít pinpoint what has changed, because basically itís the same (albeit refactored) code.

So there is a good chance, that it was my code's fault all along (and it shouldn't have worked on AMD hardware at all), hence I feel sub-pixel small, want to apologise for any inconvenience and rest my case.