PDA

View Full Version : GLSL IDE for MacOS

Karim Kenawy
07-30-2010, 02:17 AM
Hi there,

I know this topic was discussed a lot before, but without any solutions founds. Isn't there any descent GLSL IDE for the mac? I'm talking about autocomplete, highlighting, scene manipulation, debugging ... etc
Either no one thought to make one for mac or someone is supposed to but is too lazy to do it. If no one thought about it before (which I doubt) I suggest making one :D , I'm a normal software engineer (no guru skills) but I offer my help to any one interested (some experienced guys).

ravage
07-30-2010, 07:08 AM
It didn't take long to find one and apple actually has it's own. There are others but check this:

check this tutorial (http://kevincathey.com/school/opengl-on-the-mac-part-2-building-glsl-shaders/)

It explains where to download it and how to set it up. I think it goes over a little tutorial to show you how to use it. I think this glsl ide is most likely limited to glsl 1.2(opengl 2.1) but better than nothing it shouldn't be hard to convert it to a higher version of glsl.

Karim Kenawy
07-30-2010, 01:02 PM
Thanks for reply,
Yes, I know about Mac's OpenGL Shader Builder and it is the only one available, thats why I posted my post. OpenGL Shader Builder is too limited, no autocomplete, you can't manipulate the scene, syntax highlighting is silly, it is too basic. I was hoping to find something like Nvidia FX Composer on Windows for HLSL.

ravage
07-30-2010, 02:13 PM
I think your best bet is to use shader builder. I found one called lumina that says it works with mac but I don't think it's that much better.

Lumina: (may need to be compiled)
link (http://lumina.sourceforge.net/Home.html)

heres a thread that went into more about the state of a glsl debugger and ide.
here (http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=270139)