PDA

View Full Version : Random CTD Access Violation in module atioglxx.dll



ToranagaSama
12-29-2009, 09:51 AM
Regarding Homeworld 2 with the "Complex mod". I and many others are experiencing random CTDs during play.

The problem appears to be related to the opengl driver: atioglxx.dll, and occurs only when playing the HW2 Complex mod. If playing Homeworld 2 v1.1 w/o the mod there are no issues. Below is the relevant lines from the Hw2.log file, and the ErrorLog.txt file, respectively:

Loaded Archive: 'Homeworld2.big'
Loaded Archive: 'english.big'
Loaded Archive: 'Complex744.big'
Uing ..profiles\ for profiles folder
GAME -- Using player profile 11
Changing from a 32 bit colour depth in winNT (5.1 build 2600), Service Pack 3
Using ATI Technologies Inc.'s 3.2.9232 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series renderer (Suspected driver is
atioglxx.dll 6.14.10.9232)
Loaded Archive: 'englishSpeech.big'
Loaded Archive: 'Music.big'

-------

Homeworld2.exe caused an Access Violation in module atioglxx.dll at 0023:699b6a22.
Error occurred at 12/29/2009 10:16:54.
Homeworld2.exe, run by User Name.
Microsoft Windows XP?.
8 processor(s), type 586.
1024 MBytes physical memory.
Read from location 00000000 caused an access violation.

System Specs:

Intel i7-920
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
6 GB Patriot LL memory
XFX HD 5870
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Catalyst 9.12 drivers

Complex Mod: http://www.homeworld2complex.com/lastversion.htm

Woggy
01-12-2010, 04:30 PM
I've been getting these CTDs as well, with both Complex mod and FX mod. Tested on WinXP 32 and Win7 64 with both the English and German 1.1 exes (the only one that works on Win7), so unlikely OS-specific.

I get the atioglxx.dll access violation after 10-60 minutes of normal play on any resolution, even while using the -d3d flag. I guess that flag doesn't do what I thought it did.

As well as the atioglxx.dll access violation, I sometimes get:
Homeworld2.exe caused a No Memory in module ntdll.dll at 001b:7c93b3db.
Could be from running in 32bit with a 1GB card leaving 2-3GB of accessible memory though, Complex games end up with a lot of ships in play. I don't get that error on Win7.

Specs:
i7 920 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte UD-3R 1366
6GB OCZ RAM
Sapphire HD5850
Win7 Ultimate 64
Catalyst 9.12s

Pierre Boudier
01-13-2010, 09:07 AM
thanks for the report, we will try to reproduce those issues.