PDA

View Full Version : Texture mapping not working?

draftomatic
04-11-2009, 01:50 PM
I'm just getting started learning texture mapping and I can't for the life of me figure out why my texture isn't showing up on screen. Here are the calls I make after loading the bitmap into sprite1 (char[]):

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 1);
glPixelStorei(GL_UNPACK_ALIGNMENT, 1);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);
glTexParameteri (GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT);
glTexParameteri (GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexParameteri (GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexEnvf(GL_TEXTURE_ENV, GL_TEXTURE_ENV_MODE, GL_MODULATE);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_BGRA_EXT, sprite1[18], sprite1[22], 0, GL_BGRA_EXT, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, &sprite1[54]);

glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 1);
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glTexCoord2f (0.0, 0.0);
glVertex2f (0.0, 0.0);
glTexCoord2f (1.0, 0.0);
glVertex2f (1.0, 0.0);
glTexCoord2f (1.0, 1.0);
glVertex2f (1.0, 1.0);
glTexCoord2f (0.0, 1.0);
glVertex2f (0.0, 1.0);
glEnd();

I have done glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D).

This is how I set up my matrices before drawing:

glViewport(0, 0, width, height);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
glOrtho(-1.0, 1.0, -1, 1, .1, 10);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();

trinitrotoluene
04-11-2009, 04:48 PM
I think you gave the wrong internal format for glTexImage2D (http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man/xhtml/glTexImage2D.xml). Try with GL_RGBA8.

zeoverlord
04-11-2009, 04:56 PM
it could be any of a handful of problems.

#1 check if the polygon is being drawn, if it is it should be either white (depending a bit on the color you set) or textured.

#2 glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 1);.
While it might work sometimes, it is an undefined behavior according to the api, you need to generate a texturename to make sure it works.

#3 is your color set to white