PDA

View Full Version : Accessing existing buffers (X-windows)

Alex Cope
11-12-2007, 01:09 PM
Hi,

I figured since I am a beginner this question belongs here, although the subject matter is a little more advanced.

Basically what I wish to do is access the OpenGL output of a program under X and stream it out over a network in a form I choose. Basically what Yukon (http://www.neopsis.com/projects/yukon/) does, but with no audio and for a program with two OpenGL windows (only one of which I wish to copy).

The desired method would be to obtain the handle of the correct window - automatically or otherwise - and use this to access the buffer using GLX and then glReadPixels(). Since Yukon seems to do this by subsuming parts of the GL library am I correct in assuming this cannot be done? Or are they just being more clever than I need to be (this need only work in a very controlled environment for me)?

So the real questions here are:
1. Will this method work & if so how (a rough outline will be enough to get me started - I can figure out specifics)?
2. Can this be achieved any other way?
3. Is this the wrong BB for such OS specific queries - if so can you point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Alex

ZbuffeR
11-12-2007, 02:55 PM
You are in a very controlled environment but you can't recompile the program you want to video grab ? What program is it ?

I guess the best way to do it is to grab the Yukon sources, see how they do it, fiddle until you can grab the second window.

Dark Photon
11-19-2007, 07:22 AM
what I wish to do is access the OpenGL output of a program under X and stream it out over a network in a form I choose.