PDA

View Full Version : textureCube



andreasMank
05-26-2004, 06:01 AM
.. can't find how to use textureCube .. do i have to create an specific texture in my opengl application .. or just using texture2d ??

thx

Corrail
05-26-2004, 08:18 AM
OpenGL Specification V1.051, page 54:



vec4 textureCube (samplerCube sampler, vec3 coord [, float bias] )
vec4 textureCubeLod (samplerCube sampler, vec3 coord, float lod)

andreasMank
05-26-2004, 10:15 PM
.. this is what i found .. and i'm trying it this way .. but .. surprisingly it don't work :) .. so i'm interested in how it works in detail .. normally the access to a cube map is by using a 3d vector .. depending on the main axis it's possible to look up in a normal 2d texture .. this is how i understood all the stuff .. so what i'm doing in my implementation is loading a normal 2d image of an sliced cube .. create a texture object .. unit .. all the normal gl stuff and set the uniform samplerCube .. the question in detail is .. to the texCube() gllang funktion really take the 3d vector calculate the coresponding 2d coordinates in an normal texture .. or have i to use an cube texture in my opengl code .. catchword: EXT_texture_cube_map ..

jra101
05-26-2004, 10:22 PM
Yes, you need to use a cubemap texture.