PDA

View Full Version : Textures in array must be the same size?



Leadwerks
09-06-2007, 04:48 PM
I have heard that if I declare a texture array like this:

sampler2D textures[10]

Each texture in the array has to be the same dimensions. What is the reason for this? Doesn't it seem terribly inconvenient?

Zengar
09-06-2007, 04:54 PM
Never heard about this. I also foudn nothing in the manual. Where do you have it from? IMHO, there is no reason for such restriction...

Jan
09-07-2007, 02:12 AM
You might confuse this with array-textures:
http://opengl.org/registry/specs/EXT/texture_array.txt

That's something very different.

Jan.

Leadwerks
09-07-2007, 04:07 PM
Thank you for the tip.

Dee.cz
09-09-2007, 09:04 AM
Array of samplers is very very helpful in some situations, but before you start using it, consider following:

- array of samplers probably still doesn't work on Radeons

- array of samplers won't be supported in future 'cleaned' OpenGL