PDA

View Full Version : Why use GLUT?



gfxgeek
08-16-2001, 11:03 AM
I'm a newbie at OpenGL programming so pardon any ignorance. I'm developing in OSX, and all the tutorials I've seen use GLUT. Why? I mean I would like to use the AppKit Frameworks provided through the Cocoa windowing API. Is it possible in conjunction? Or should I not be using GLUT if that's what I want to do?

Qwylli
08-16-2001, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by gfxgeek:
I'm a newbie at OpenGL programming so pardon any ignorance. I'm developing in OSX, and all the tutorials I've seen use GLUT. Why? I mean I would like to use the AppKit Frameworks provided through the Cocoa windowing API. Is it possible in conjunction? Or should I not be using GLUT if that's what I want to do?

You should not use GLUT if you use AppKit, theres no interest of using GLUT anyway if youre confortable with another framework or you dont want to write crossplatform code.

gfxgeek
08-17-2001, 06:49 AM
Yeah I will only be developing for OSX and need access to the AppKit frameworks. Problem is, I can't find any tutorials on programming opengl on OSX that doesn't use GLUT http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/mad.gif