PDA

View Full Version : Stupid nvidia driver pet tricks?



SparceMatrix
09-05-2002, 09:34 AM
Now that I have hardware support from my driver, are there any easy tests or features that I can implement in my desktop (KDE or Gnome) to reflect this functionality?

09-05-2002, 05:53 PM
You have the glxinfo command that should write information about the OpenGL information. Check also that the GLX ports of NeHe tutorials builds and runs. Running some games is also a good test. You probably have tux racer installed and some commercial games has also been ported like Q3, UT and return to castle wolfeinstein.

If you install performer from SGI should you run "perfly town.perfly" http://www.sgi.com/software/performer/

SparceMatrix
09-05-2002, 07:45 PM
Yes, I installed tuxracer after installing a dependency, libSDL_mixer and it is a lot of fun. I am convinced I have hardware support.

I do see that the game shows up in a small area in the full screen. It isn't taking up the whole screen.

Also, using glxinfo, I get an error in part of the report saying,

"Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual"

I looked at the site for performer, but like in so many things about OpenGL, it is impossible to figure out if my system will work with Performer. How do I interpret the system requirements for Performer? What are those nVidia numbers, for example?

09-06-2002, 06:06 PM
I am almost afraid to tell you this but since glxinfo does not work is probably the driver not correct installed. Did you edited the XF86Config-4 file according to the instructions in /usr/share/doc/NVIDIA_GLX-1.0/README?
The best source for installation help is probably the nvnews forum http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?s=ee047cd0f67a2c98e0582b0cb4f41d6 3&forumid=14

That tux racer does not take up the whole screen probably means that the program can not switch to a resolution because you do not have it in the XF86Config-4 file.



Section "Screen"
...
DefaultColorDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Performer runs fine on all nvidia cards from TNT and up.

SparceMatrix
09-06-2002, 07:22 PM
I get the nVidia splash screen when I go into my desktop and I've heard that indicates the driver is going. Is that what the GLX visual is? What does the error indicate? I do get a lot of other information too. Should I post it?

I'll try inserting the other screen resolutions in my configuration file.

09-06-2002, 08:54 PM
Yes, post the other information. The error indicates that the GLX from nvidia is not correct installed. If you try some of the GLX ports of NeHe tutorials will they also display information.

SparceMatrix
09-06-2002, 09:16 PM
Here it is:

name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.2
client glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info,
GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_SGIX_swap_group, GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer
GLX extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce2 MX/AGP
OpenGL version string: 1.3.1 NVIDIA 29.60
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_imaging, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_texture_compression,
GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3,
GL_ARB_transpose_matrix, GL_S3_s3tc, GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_bgra,
GL_EXT_blend_color, GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract,
GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint, GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array,
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements, GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays,
GL_EXT_packed_pixels, GL_EXT_paletted_texture, GL_EXT_point_parameters,
GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette,
GL_EXT_stencil_wrap, GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc,
GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_texture_env_combine, GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3,
GL_EXT_texture_cube_map, GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic,
GL_EXT_texture_lod, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_object,
GL_EXT_vertex_array, GL_EXT_vertex_weighting,
GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_KTX_buffer_region, GL_NV_blend_square,
GL_NV_evaluators, GL_NV_fence, GL_NV_fog_distance,
GL_NV_light_max_exponent, GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil,
GL_NV_register_combiners, GL_NV_texgen_emboss, GL_NV_texgen_reflection,
GL_NV_texture_env_combine4, GL_NV_texture_rectangle,
GL_NV_vertex_array_range, GL_NV_vertex_array_range2, GL_NV_vertex_program,
GL_NV_vertex_program1_1, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_multitexture,
GL_SGIS_texture_lod
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x21 16 tc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x22 16 dc 0 16 0 r y . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x23 16 tc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
0x24 16 dc 0 16 0 r . . 5 6 5 0 0 16 0 16 16 16 16 0 0 None

Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x61 16 tc 0 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x62 16 dc 0 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None

I neglected to say that I am running dual monitors and the second card is not nVidia. Maybe that's the source of the error.

09-06-2002, 11:35 PM
Yes, I also think that the error message is about the second monitor/card. If everything works for the first monitor and you are satisfied with that is the installation complete. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

SparceMatrix
09-17-2002, 06:34 PM
I would like to recommend the following 3D modeling software for people looking to exploit their hardware acceleration in Linux outside of gaming:

http://gid.cimne.upc.es/

You can download the Academic version of GiD for free. The tutorial is pretty good with a few errors, but nothing impossible to deal with. The Academic limitation is a problem in the tutorial, but you can work around it by reducing the ratchet model to just two or three lobes.

http://www.equinox3d.com/

This is another good one for Linux, but the tutorial is basically a reference, it is still worth booting up just to get an idea how modeling software works.

I can't get the above mentioned Performer installed.

Does anyone know where I can download Quake 2? Not the internet game, but the single player game. A CDROM would be better.