PDA

View Full Version : GLUT error



linuxedge
05-12-2001, 03:31 PM
I'm using RedHat 7.1 with the NVIDIA drivers, and am having trouble with the NeHe tutorials. The linux/glx ones work fine, but the linux ones that use glut give me this error:
"GLU fatal error in lesson04:visual with necessary capabilities not found"

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance....

linuxedge
05-12-2001, 03:33 PM
Sorry the error is:
"GLUT fatal error in lesson04:visual with necessary capabilities not found"



Originally posted by linuxedge:
I'm using RedHat 7.1 with the NVIDIA drivers, and am having trouble with the NeHe tutorials. The linux/glx ones work fine, but the linux ones that use glut give me this error:
"GLU fatal error in lesson04:visual with necessary capabilities not found"

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance....

rts
05-12-2001, 03:38 PM
That means the application tried to initialise a mode through glut, but that mode wasn't available (e.g., maybe it asked for a stencil buffer, but that isn't supported in your setup).

linuxedge
05-12-2001, 04:05 PM
rts..you were right
I changed
// glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_RGBA | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_ALPHA | GLUT_DEPTH);
to
glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_RGBA | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_DEPTH);
and it worked.

I have a GeForce2 GTS...do the nvidia drivers not support the GLUT_ALPHA?



Originally posted by rts:
That means the application tried to initialise a mode through glut, but that mode wasn't available (e.g., maybe it asked for a stencil buffer, but that isn't supported in your setup).

rts
05-12-2001, 04:13 PM
Yes, they probably do, but you are probably in a bad mode.

If you are in 16bpp, try 32. If you are in 32, try 16. Or it might be something else, but along these lines.

Sorry I can't be more specific, but I don't own an nvidia card.

linuxedge
05-12-2001, 07:25 PM
rts - Youre right again...
I was in 16 and when I switched to 24 then Alpha worked....wooohoooo....
I'm comin off the Direct3D Bandwagon and movin to Linux....


Originally posted by rts:
Yes, they pr
obably do, but you are probably in a bad mode.

If you are in 16bpp, try 32. If you are in 32, try 16. Or it might be something else, but along these lines.

Sorry I can't be more specific, but I don't own an nvidia card.