PDA

View Full Version : Geforce 3 woes.



Nutty
04-20-2001, 02:39 PM
I know this isn't really the place for this, just wondering if anyone has any magic tips to help solve this.

I have an ELSA gladiac 920 (Geforce 3) just freshly installed into my system. Athlon 1ghz, VIA KT7A chipset. Win98, drivers 11.01.

The system works fine, but after about 5 minutes from booting, I get lots of visual artifacts on screen. Appearing now. They appear very quickly when running 3D applications. AGP driver is on standard not turbo, all my BIOS settings are crancked to their minimum, and still it happens. After soo long it totally locks my system. Gfx card is irq 11, with only ACPI sharing irq 11.

Is this a hardware thing, via thing, or driver thing? Anybody know?

Nutty

Zeno
04-20-2001, 03:24 PM
Unfortunately I don't know the answer to your question, but I was curious about where you obtained such hardware? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

-- Zeno

Alessandro_dup1
04-20-2001, 11:10 PM
i'd try installing the latest via service pack

Nutty
04-21-2001, 03:15 AM
I got it from Nvidia, as part of the Gathering attendee deal.

I've installed the latest VIA 4 in 1 drivers. Even tried using the standard mode AGP driver instead of Turbo. ELSA technical support are closed all weekend! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

It locks my system up too.. to the point of not being able to do anything. I've had to change back to my old card for the time being.

I also managed to reserve an irq for the gfx card alone.. but still made no differnce.

The mainboard is an ABIT one.. if I failed to mention that before...

Matt, Cass... any ideas? Surely some ppl at nvida have these cards.. anyone experience screen corruption with them? Should I try installing Win2k?

I guess I'll have to wait until Monday to phone Elsa tech support.

Thanks anyway... if anyone has any info at all about screen corruption fixes in via chipsets, please let me know ASAP!

Nutty

davepermen
04-21-2001, 03:36 AM
hm.. 12.00 driver is out.. have you tried those, too?

Nutty
04-21-2001, 03:53 AM
I'm just about to try those now. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Nutty

Nutty
04-21-2001, 04:21 AM
Well it took me a while to get them installed, due to it not booting up.. but finally it's up. I'm still getting a small amoumnt of screen corruption.. but it aint crashed yet.

I turned both my drives from UDMA to PIO.. I think there may be some connection... dunno..

still intermittant corruption occuring now.. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

hasn't locked up yet though, which is good.

Nutty
04-21-2001, 05:06 AM
I think I've fixed it.

I'm using 12.00 drivers.

I did the following 3 things.

1) Used block transfere for page flip technique.
2) Disabled support for enhanced cpu instructions (athlon)
3) Disabled anisotropic filtering.

I've gotten through a q3 demo, mad onion demo, crytek demo, and I've got no corruption or lock-ups anywhere..

I assume it's one of those things then. Unless the card is deciding to play ball just for the moment...

Nutty

mcraighead
04-21-2001, 12:04 PM
Never seen it with mine, but I don't touch Via chipsets with a ten-foot pole.

- Matt

IsaackRasmussen
04-21-2001, 12:10 PM
Originally posted by mcraighead:
Never seen it with mine, but I don't touch Via chipsets with a ten-foot pole.

- Matt

Right, you were BX guy, right...

Which motherboard do you have now?

Nutty
04-21-2001, 12:14 PM
It's stable now.. Q3 in 2048 x 1500 at 40 odd fps is right nice! Q3 works fine.. but I still got corrupted textures in Serious Sam after about 20 mins play.. didn't lock my machine though. And the corruption stoped once I quit SS.

Maybe once people start buying them and testing them more, some patches may arise to fix this.

Nutty

mcraighead
04-21-2001, 12:43 PM
I still use BX. I would suggest the i815 or the AMD 760 to new buyers... the KT133A is all right, but I just don't trust Via.

- Matt

Michael Steinberg
04-21-2001, 01:07 PM
I had exactly these problems when I tried to overclock my old TNT.
BTW: Is it possible to to have two desktops with different resolution on Win98/2000 on a geforce 2 mx 400 twin?

jwatte
04-21-2001, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by mcraighead:
I still use BX. I would suggest the i815 or the AMD 760 to new buyers... the KT133A is all right, but I just don't trust Via.

I have found VIA chipsets (Apollo Pro and later) to be no buggier than Intel chipsets, and to have reasonable performance. The main problem is that they are cheaper than the Intel chipsets, and thus go on most twenty-dollar motherboards where the manufacturer may cut corners in validation, testing, or BIOS. Thus, when someone buys a twenty-dollar motherboard and has problems, they blame VIA, rather than their own stinginess.

I've never had a problem with a VIA chipset motherboard made by Tyan or Asus. Of course, I've never had a problem with BX, GX or i8xx motherboards made by the same companies, either (except the i810 only allows built-in graphics, which is slow as molasses in winter).

davepermen
04-22-2001, 02:17 AM
hm.. nutty.. think your problems are gone, arent they? i just took a look at the nice little screenshot at your page http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Nutty
04-22-2001, 03:03 AM
Yeah, over 5000 Mad Onion marks aint bad is it! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif Should get higher, if this damn cpu weren't multiplier locked! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif Problem seems to be gone.. I was running q3 demos in stupid resolutions well into wee hours of last night, and no problems. Still odd that Serious Sam got corrupted textures. Haven't tried that today.. might give it ago.

Nutty

davepermen
04-22-2001, 03:56 AM
you are the first that can see the naturedemo in the gamesection of 3dmark2k1 ( and the pixelshader demo,too )

and, how do they look like?

Nutty
04-22-2001, 05:24 AM
The nature bit in the benchmark is similar to the one in the demo, but there is a pixel shaded lake, that the river runs into. Looks right nice.

The pixel shader test, is a night scene at sea, with rolling waves reflecting the low lying sun on the horizon. Very nice too..

Nutty

martin_marinov
04-23-2001, 04:00 AM
Hi
I had a similar problems with my home PC (Athlon 650Mhz, VIA KX133, GeForce2 MX) + Win2k. Well, in fact my problem was in the MS memory managment (Win2K) + Athlon processor. Nothing to do with NVidia and Via. I also thought, that it is related to Nvidia, since the crashes appear in their driver(I was able to trace several times the crashes, after stopping and debuging my app, when the corruption occured. The crashes occur in the drivers(Access violation).)
But the problem in not related to Nvidia. This is some kind of memory corruption caused by MS win2k memory managment + Athlon. It appears also with Matrox G450.

This patch completly solved my problem: http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q270/7/15.ASP

Hope this helps
Martin

Thaellin
04-23-2001, 04:27 AM
Just thought I'd pipe up briefly and mention that it sounded like a heat problem to me. That theory slips if you were simply able to press 'reset' immediately after lockup to get it up again, though...

I recently put in a third video card. Had very strange system behavior. Popped open the case to make sure all the cards were seated firmly and was greeted by a wave of heat... More ventilation and the system is fine, now.

-- Jeff

Eric
04-23-2001, 04:54 AM
Well, now the question is: where is MY GeForce3 ???????????

http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif

Regards.

Eric

Nutty
04-23-2001, 08:16 AM
Well I'm using win98, so I dont think that patch applies to me. Though I wouldn't rule out incompatibilities with Athlon and any version on windoze.

My previous solution, kinda failed on me. I got corruption again in SS. And in Q3 afterwards. After talking to someone on a newsgroup I believe the problem may be the card not getting enough power. I lowered my IO voltage, and the problem occured much quicker. I uped it to 3.5 and it instantly became more stable.

Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that the fan on the card draws it's power from the AGP port, and is not externally powered. I was able to play SS for a bit, which previously was guarenteed to cause corruption. As far as heat goes, my system is pretty cool. Using Prime 95 torture test my cpu never gets above 48 degrees celsius.

The low power thing really makes sense anyway, from my experiences with it. especially getting corruption in text mode in the BIOS, where there are NO drivers loaded. If this voltage uping doesn't sort it out, I'll be on the blower to ELSA tech support anyway..

Time for some Seriously Smooth Serious Sam!! Mmmmm http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Nutty