PDA

View Full Version : transparency when using multiple passes?



Vexator
08-13-2006, 08:19 AM
this is probably a stupid question, but i could not find sth useful when searching: i use multiple passes to simulate lighting - the 1st pass renders depth only, then i enable additive blending and render one pass for each light. works fine, but how can i simulate transparency now (for billboards etc)?

CrazyButcher
08-13-2006, 08:51 AM
there was a thread here already, (or it was gdalgos list). For bigger objects it was suggested to treat as opaque do the additive lighting in another rendertarget, then blend the image back on the framebuffer with transparency.

Vexator
08-13-2006, 09:20 AM
(or it was gdalgos list)what's that?

thanks!

CrazyButcher
08-13-2006, 03:43 PM
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/gdalgorithms-list

I looked up the thread there its in the archive:

it started at the 15.th July and goes for a couple days.

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum...0607&viewday=15 (http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum.php?forum_id=6188&max_rows=25&style=flat&viewmonth=200607&viewday=15)