PDA

View Full Version : How not to update the depth buffer..



lasso
04-04-2002, 05:46 AM
Hello..

I would like to know if there is some way of locking depth-buffer updates.

By problem is:
I have rendered lots of opaque polygons and now I want to render a set of transparent polygons but not have them update the z-buffer...

/ Lars

Coconut
04-04-2002, 05:55 AM
glDepthMask

Ozzy
04-04-2002, 06:33 AM
please jump out of the window..

lasso
04-04-2002, 10:37 AM
Originally posted by Ozzy:
please jump out of the window..

I already did.. ;D

Sorry for this posting. =)

Ozzy
04-04-2002, 10:28 PM
ehehehe ^^
Now you know that depth testing issues are covered by many books &| many docs about OpenGL!! ;))
If you're still dealing with OpenGL for some others issues there is a really interesting 'online documentation' which i've used a lot when i was developing my own rasteriser on top of GL. -> http://www.cevis.uni-bremen.de/~uwe/opengl/opengl.html

and for depth testing!! :)) -> http://www.cevis.uni-bremen.de/~uwe/opengl/glDepthMask.html
http://www.cevis.uni-bremen.de/~uwe/opengl/glDepthFunc.html

eh? jump! ;))

Bye

[This message has been edited by Ozzy (edited 04-04-2002).]

Obliviator
04-08-2002, 05:59 AM
Originally posted by lasso:
I already did.. ;D

Sorry for this posting. =)

you don't need to be sorry.. a forum like this is for questions like yours

Ozzy
04-08-2002, 07:53 AM
Originally posted by Obliviator:
you don't need to be sorry.. a forum like this is for questions like yours

'if u need time ask a policeman.'

please think to this... and don't fustige me it's a joke.. perhaps not so good but it is...
what's the point of all of this??