PDA

View Full Version : Kyro II Selection Buffer problems



vokesalex
01-12-2002, 06:27 AM
Has anyone tried using the selection buffer with a Kyro II card ?

I want to be able to return a list of polygons that intersect with the mouse pointer - i.e. for selecting items in 3D. I'm using the glPickBuffer(), glRenderMode()and glLoadName() commands as described in the openGL red book and NeHe's online OpenGL programming guides.

When I run my application and click on a polygon I get a load of rubbish returned on my Kyro - the selection buffer seems to be trashed - I get some very wierd large numbers. Yet the same piece of code running on my mate's Geforce 3 performs perfectly allowing me to select individual objects.

I was wondering if someone with a Kyro could run Nehe's example 33 found at
http://nehe.gamedev.net/tutorials/lesson33.asp

and see if you can actually destroy the objects in his little game.

It's probably drivers - but without another kyro I'm a bit in the dark!

Cheers

Alex

Tanus
02-22-2002, 12:06 AM
I'm going to bump this thread because I'm getting the exact same problem, but cannot find any way around it. Is there some sort of work around for this?

Mr_Smith
02-22-2002, 03:36 PM
Same prob here too, anyone got any ideas?