PDA

View Full Version : Post What Video Card You Use Here:



cutting_crew
11-13-2003, 08:03 AM
i have just read a thread people talking about NVIDIA,ATI etc etc. wondering what people use, so why not just have a poll? please state what card you use and if not obvious what is the manufacturer of the card, also give us at least the video memory on the board. i'll start http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

on my slow 333 Mhz i have a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 16MB
on my new machine i have a GeForce FX 5900 256 MB DDR RAM(if you can afford one of these, get one, you will be blown away) http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

[This message has been edited by cutting_crew (edited 11-13-2003).]

azazello
11-13-2003, 08:24 AM
2cutting_crew
It's a question to admins of this forum: to implement additional fields in user account, were will be possible to describe a configuration of the system.

But for programmers it's almost no difference between NV34 & NV38, as well as RV350 & R360..

generally, it's OT..

Jan
11-13-2003, 01:50 PM
GF 4200 128 MB RAM

SirKnight
11-13-2003, 02:05 PM
GeForce FX 5600 Ultra 128MB

EDIT:
GeForce 256 32MB DDR
Voodoo Rush 6MB
Matrox (i dunno which, but it's 32MB)
Trident 2D 1MB (or was it 2MB, hmm)

-SirKnight

[This message has been edited by SirKnight (edited 11-13-2003).]

GPSnoopy
11-13-2003, 02:10 PM
GeForce 2 Ultra 64 MB
GeForce FX 5900 Ultra 256 MB

vember
11-13-2003, 02:13 PM
radeon 9k7

Ostsol
11-13-2003, 02:23 PM
Radeon 9700 Pro

Probably not going to bother upgrading for quite a while.

knackered
11-13-2003, 02:47 PM
And what cars you drive and what toothpaste you use and what brand of bog paper you wipe your arse with please. List here:-

zeckensack
11-13-2003, 03:03 PM
Geforce 2 MX
Geforce 3 Ti200
Radeon
Radeon 8500LE
Radeon 9500Pro
Kyro 2
Voodoo 3 (PCI)

Also rans:
Voodoo 2
PowerVR PCX2

Next on my wishlist are a 3DLabs P9 and an NV36 ... and PowerVR Series 5 http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

pkaler
11-13-2003, 03:07 PM
I always have trouble remebering the marketing names for nVidia cards.

NV35, NV22, TNT2 ultra, Radeon 9000, Honda Civic, Arm & Hammer Extra Whitening, Scotties 4-ply.

NitroGL
11-13-2003, 03:51 PM
Radeon 9700 Pro. Probably won't have it for much longer though, as it's starting to die (I think, either that or my LCD is dying).

Tom78
11-13-2003, 04:55 PM
Radeon 9700Pro and GFFX 5600.

cu
Tom

rgpc
11-13-2003, 07:48 PM
Leadtek A350 (fx5900 Ultra) 256 Meg
geforce 3 Ti200 (on my server)
geforce 256 - (3yo sons PC)

Personally I was a little more impressed by the 9800pro a mate bought but the recent detonators have closed the gap. He was impressed because he went from the above gf256 to a 9800pro - there was a slight increase in performance. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

Zengar
11-13-2003, 09:45 PM
GFFX5600 128 Mb - can you tell me why I'm not able to activate thermal monitoring page in the driver tabs? I thought 52.16 should support it.
+ GF3 Ti 200

Andrea Rossini
11-13-2003, 10:53 PM
ATI Radeon VE 128 Mb,
bought in January 2002 to get Quake3 running, previously I used a non OpenGL compatible Matrox MGA G100.
It's inside an antistatic envelop somewere in my home. It's yours for 30.
http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

vmh5
11-14-2003, 05:26 AM
GeForce FX 5900 128MB
ATI Radeon 9700 128MB
Matrox Parhelia 128MB (not to happy with it)

as well as several older versions from the same 3 manufacturers.

cutting_crew
11-14-2003, 05:26 AM
who owns matrox? those are really out of date cards or no? i know they support two displays from one monitor. is that part of an NVIDIA chipset?

Tuttle
11-14-2003, 05:29 AM
Dual G5:
9800 Pro

x86 Box:
GeForce 2 GTS

davepermen
11-14-2003, 05:51 AM
currently in use:
radeon9700pro on celeron 2gig

soon in use:
radeon9700pro on celeron 2.7gig http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif
oh, and some onboard **** on a 2gig celeron barebone system that i'll use as server http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

not enough money for my amd64 system this and next year http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

oh.. and i still have a gf2mx somewhere around.. not that i use it anymore..

soconne
11-14-2003, 05:54 AM
Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
Geforce TI 4400 128MB
Geforce 2 MX 64MB
Geforce 4 MX 440 128MB
Voodoo 3 32MB

***Radeon 9800 Pro Machine Specs****
P4 2.8Ghz HT 800Mhz FBS
1 GB PC3200
120GB Sata 8MB cache, 160GB ATA133 8MB cache

3k0j
11-14-2003, 06:35 AM
Hercules + CGA combo, in dual ZX Spectrum Plus with MC68070 turbo card and AGA chipset.

roffe
11-14-2003, 02:41 PM
Fat Agnus/Denise chips. Running with a MC68000 at a whopping 7.XX MHz on a A600HD.

The A600HD has plenty of hd space for movies and mp3's(40MB http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

JD
11-14-2003, 06:30 PM
I have gf2 32mb.

So it's around 2:1 in favor of nvidia according to the posts here so far.

Ati = 12
Nv = 21

Give or take 1 or 2 cards http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

nukem
11-14-2003, 07:41 PM
Heres all the vid cards I have access to
nvidia geforce fx 5900 ultra (my desktop)
ati mobility radeon 7500 (my laptop)
These I can just test on
nvidia geforce fx 5200
nvidia geforce 4 mx
nvidia geforce 3 ultra
some generic card on my sisters comp, I think its an old intel extream

Ostsol
11-14-2003, 09:35 PM
Originally posted by JD:
I have gf2 32mb.

So it's around 2:1 in favor of nvidia according to the posts here so far.

Ati = 12
Nv = 21

Give or take 1 or 2 cards http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif
If you count the users by the video cards they use, then you'll see that 12 use ATI and 13 use NVidia (some of those counted use both, adding a point to each). Almost equal, which is probably quite different from what it had been a couple years ago.

Humus
11-15-2003, 12:52 AM
ATI Radeon 9700pro.

Edit: Forgot .. no car, Pepsodent, Serla.

[This message has been edited by Humus (edited 11-15-2003).]

nystep
11-15-2003, 01:30 AM
Ati radeon 9600 PRO LE 128mb
geForceFX 5200 128mb
geForce3 ti 500 64mb

all in agp4x mode.

OldMan
11-15-2003, 02:05 AM
ti4200
GF2 PRO
in two weeks an FX5700 ultra

(still don't thrust ATI in linux)

DopeFish
11-15-2003, 03:23 AM
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 128meg (Built By ATi)
nVidia GeForce3 Ti200 64meg (X-Micro)

And if I take the Radeon9800 out of this box, I have an onboard nv17 (gf4mx) as well. Never use it tho http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Humus
11-16-2003, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by OldMan:
(still don't thrust ATI in linux)

Nice little spelling error there http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/tongue.gif

OldMan
11-16-2003, 02:18 AM
ok ok... English is not my native language.. and since I am learning German I am really confused when I use any of the two languages.

Anyway I dont trust in it.. and would not thrust it in my linux box AGP slot :P

AblazeSpace
11-16-2003, 03:46 AM
Desktop: GeForce4 Ti 4200
Notebook: Radeon 9600 Mobile

davepermen
11-16-2003, 04:44 AM
Originally posted by OldMan:
ok ok... English is not my native language.. and since I am learning German I am really confused when I use any of the two languages.

Anyway I dont trust in it.. and would not thrust it in my linux box AGP slot :P

well.. nobody has to..

but i prefer to thrust ( http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif) the ones that don't happen to fail in all cheatpatches and apps since over a year http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

but thats another topic..

but i like that currently, radeons catch up quite quickly. nice to see.. interesting shift..

Andrewinator
11-16-2003, 01:47 PM
GeForce 4200Ti 64MB

MrShoe
11-16-2003, 02:46 PM
Leadtek GeForceFX 5900. Latest drivers (52.16) totally kicked arse.

Freelancer
11-17-2003, 04:07 AM
Hi, cutting_crew! You forgot to send me the texture class!!

GeForce3Ti200 w/ 64Mb on Pentium4-2300 (overclocked).

cutting_crew
11-17-2003, 06:05 AM
did you get my email to you freelancer?? i didnt forget its just gonan take time! i am still working on it and i am out of town these last 2 weeks so be patient! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Nutty
11-17-2003, 09:12 AM
Home : GF4 TI 4600, Work : about 100 NV cards from gf2mx to 5900Ultras.

zeckensack
11-17-2003, 10:08 AM
Originally posted by Nutty:
Home : GF4 TI 4600, Work : about 100 NV cards from gf2mx to 5900Ultras.You should buy at least one Radeon methinks http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

JD
11-17-2003, 12:49 PM
Oldman, I would spring for regular 5900 instead of 5700u if you can as they're about the same price but 5900 has 256bit bus giving it more bandwidth like 27gigs instead of 14 I think the 5700u has. Look for XFX 5900 cards.

pkuloop
11-17-2003, 01:26 PM
MSI FX5900 Ultra 256M

Nutty
11-17-2003, 01:45 PM
You should buy at least one Radeon methinks

We do when the needs arise, but its fair to say we use nigh on 100% nv cards in development machines. But our studio is mainly console development. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

OldMan
11-17-2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by JD:
Oldman, I would spring for regular 5900 instead of 5700u if you can as they're about the same price but 5900 has 256bit bus giving it more bandwidth like 27gigs instead of 14 I think the 5700u has. Look for XFX 5900 cards.

Thank you. But choosing specific vendors here in Brazil is difficult (not are sold here) and 5900 found here are 25% more expensive than 5700U.

Anyway 5700U has more vertex capability.. and that is more important in my current work.

amendol
11-17-2003, 01:52 PM
Home:
5900 ultra
4400
440
GF2
Voodoo3
Matrox 200

Work:
GF4
3dLabs 760

maximian
11-21-2003, 09:08 AM
Geforce II GTS 32 MB,

I feel so ashamed...

EDIT: Just got a new GFX 5600 Ultra. I am underwhelmed.

[This message has been edited by maximian (edited 12-02-2003).]

shielded
11-24-2003, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by cutting_crew:
i have just read a thread people talking about NVIDIA,ATI etc etc. wondering what people use, so why not just have a poll? please state what card you use and if not obvious what is the manufacturer of the card, also give us at least the video memory on the board. i'll start http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

on my slow 333 Mhz i have a 3Dfx Voodoo 3 16MB
on my new machine i have a GeForce FX 5900 256 MB DDR RAM(if you can afford one of these, get one, you will be blown away) http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

[This message has been edited by cutting_crew (edited 11-13-2003).]

Well I guess I'll be blown away cause I ordered one. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

My current vcard is gf4 4200 ti 64mb.

tweakoz
11-24-2003, 12:02 PM
X86 WindowsXP (Work Desktop)
Athlon2700XP
GeforceFX5200 Ultra 128MB

X86 Windows2K (Home, Laptop)
Athlon2000XP
Geforce Go420 32MB

X86 Linux SuSE9.0 Professional (Home, Server)
PentiumIII450
Radeon 9500Pro 128MB

mtm

Madoc
11-24-2003, 11:38 PM
Home: 4600ti, 5800u, rad9800 pro
Work: more gfs and rads, all sorts of crap

Need to get at least one Matrox though. We have two indipendantly written OGL engines and both have been reported to not work on Matrox cards. What's the deal with OGL on Matrox? I mean, these engines work on _anything_ else.

cutting_crew
11-25-2003, 06:05 AM
matrox is old and outdated.. simple as that

Madoc
11-25-2003, 06:21 AM
Unfortunately, there's still quite a few people using g400s or whatnot and some of the stuff we do needs to run on any old and outdated PC. We've always had problems with Matrox boards but never did anything about it. Compatibility has just become a big issue with this demo we have running on-line.
I think the problem was with textures or VA texture coordinates. Something irritatingly simple like that.

KevinK13
11-25-2003, 08:00 AM
nVidia FX5600 256MBytes

vince
11-26-2003, 02:03 PM
Radeon 9700 and 9800
GeForce FX 5600 and 5900

Nutty
11-27-2003, 12:49 AM
I first started OpenGL on a Matrox G200, and it had a massive problem clipping quads. Everytime a quad went off the side of the viewport, it's texture coordinates were completely fubar'd. Had to use triangles all the time.

Madoc
11-27-2003, 08:14 AM
Better to avoid quads anyway, many implementations switch the triangle subdivision of them depending on how they are transformed which is usually visually disturbing.

maximian
11-27-2003, 08:45 AM
Except of course if your geometry is defined by quads. In which case transforming to triangles will cause lighting problems galore.

KevinL
11-27-2003, 11:33 AM
GeForce4 Ti 4600 and GeForce4 MX 420

whisper
11-27-2003, 03:01 PM
GeForce ti4200
Quadro4 750 XGL

Madoc
11-27-2003, 11:03 PM
Originally posted by maximian:
Except of course if your geometry is defined by quads. In which case transforming to triangles will cause lighting problems galore.

On the contrary, OGL will anyway draw your quads as two triangles so you might as well define the triangles yourself rather than not know how they will be subdivided and having them switch from frame to frame. _That_ will give you problems with your lighting. Only perfectly planar quads (lighting normal wise) with perfect per-pixel lighting would save you from it.

Hardware only draws triangles, all other polygons are tessellated with triangles.

maximian
11-28-2003, 03:07 AM
Your simplifying things sir! If you draw w/ flat shading, which I found useful for several applications, you will notice that as your rotate the model, one triangle will be lit, then the other, even though both make up the same flat quad.

Madoc
11-28-2003, 03:19 AM
I hadn't considered flat shading, good point. With flat shading the triangles may be different due to attenuation and local viewer specularity.
Sounds ugly though, what does flat shading use for position? The first vertex? Yuk.

If you were to flat shade but still using normals per vertex you would be getting _correct_ flat shading and tessellating as triangles would be better for the same reasons I explain above.

I don't see why use flat shading unless you were using immediate mode and wanted to save memory.

maximian
11-28-2003, 09:09 AM
The reason I use flat shading is that it shows fairly quickly where polygons are irregular, ie
do not conform to the rest of the surfaces. You cannot see this if the polygon is small and you enable interpolation. I use the average of the vertices of a polygon and pass that as the normal for the polygon.

EDIT: Average of the normals of the vertices.

[This message has been edited by maximian (edited 11-28-2003).]

cutting_crew
12-02-2003, 09:06 AM
i guess its about even in here with maybe NVIDIA with a slight margin if you dont count people with multiple machines. i would like ATI and NVIDIA to do some extension adding for accumulation buffer i think that would be cool. even though it works now and is supported with the newer cards, its still a but chuggy and buggy http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif