PDA

View Full Version : drawing a grid - lines or texture?



okapota
03-15-2001, 06:28 AM
on a geforce card, that i know cant draw lines as fast as polys, will it be faster to draw a big grid, using two big polygons, with a grid texture to the alpha channel, or is it take really lots of lines to make this method faster than just drawing lines?



[This message has been edited by okapota (edited 03-15-2001).]

Nutty
03-15-2001, 07:05 AM
If the grid doesn't contain many lines, then both methods aren't going to take very long... although if it fills the entire screen, the poly method will burn more fill rate.

or something.

stecher
03-15-2001, 07:31 AM
I'm drawing a grid using lines and it seems pretty quick unless you use tons of lines or line stipple. I use a couple of hundred lines and its doesn't hurt performance on a TNT. However, line stipple really slows it down. I don't know about line stipple on a geforce, though.

chennes
03-15-2001, 07:47 AM
I draw grids using approximately 5000 gridlines - The performance hit seems to be almost negligible, even in software mode.

Chris

kieranatwork
03-16-2001, 06:40 AM
I don't understand why these people have replied in this way....on a geforce, forget using lines. A big textured quad will be far faster than drawing it with lines - I know this for sure.