PDA

View Full Version : help!!



fox
10-12-2000, 02:31 AM
selection buffer doesn't allow you to move objects around the scene does it? I think that would be 'picking' - any one have code for this - also would I need to implement selection as well for this to work?
I have a scene with a few objects -
I've got a drawCube function which stores the code for the cube and this can be passed values when called - while implementing the selection buffer I used drawCube(GLenum mode) and called the drawCube function in there - will this work?

NewROmancer
10-12-2000, 11:14 PM
Yes, selection buffer doesn't allow you to move things on the screen. If you want to move objects all you have to do is set the rendering mode glRenderMode(GL_RENDER). If you want to see what objects are in a selected are you call glRenderMode(GL_SELECT) and the scene is rendered to a back buufer and the objects are pushed in a stack.
Yes the method will work if you specify GL_RENDER as a parameter so yuo paint in the framebuffer.

NewROmancer

fox
10-13-2000, 02:05 AM
Do you know have any sample demos with selection and picking implemented?
Thanx