PDA

View Full Version : First real speed test



WhatEver
04-15-2001, 11:12 AM
I finaly implimented my new file format. I optomized a 3ds model of a sphere, then saved it. This way you don't have to wait for it to smooth and weld vertices(my algorithm is slow...it uses the linear sort).

The program runs in 800x600x16 mode. Please tell me your system and fps.

Speed Demo (http://www.spider3d.com/downloads/pack32.zip)

It's possible for you to save your own rm2 files with my program just so you can test the speed of your own custom models.

Here are the steps you take:
-Drop down the console with the '~' key(only on American keyboards...sorry http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif)
-to open your own 3ds file, type "load3ds filename"
-if the model is to big, use the scale command...just type scale and it will give you instructions if you don't know exactly how to use it
-for the best optimization you'll want to smooth the model by using the 'smooth' command. This one can take a while. I wouldn't recommend smoothing anything over 10,000 polygons.
-next use the "align" command. This command removes all redundent elements, not vertices. Elements are: color, vertex, normal and uv. If any set of elements are similar to any other set, it will only save it one.
-the final step is to save it as an rm2 file. Type "save filename" at the command line.
-to load the rm2 file again, type "loadrm2 filename"

...the 'a' 's' 'd' 'spacebar' keys move your position. I didn't bother to take it out for the demo. If you're going to give me frames per second, make sure you don't move your position first.

Thank you much http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif.

[This message has been edited by WhatEver (edited 05-01-2001).]

Nutty
04-15-2001, 11:27 AM
lo'

Athlon 1Ghz
256 MB at 133
Intel 740 http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

59fps constant.

p.s. add "quit" into your console commands! http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

Nutty

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 11:37 AM
It is http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif

Except it's "/quit"

I was going though a Q3A console command phase http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif.

Alessandro_dup1
04-15-2001, 12:47 PM
constant 61 fps

Athlon 1.2Ghz
Geforce 2 32Mb

davepermen
04-15-2001, 12:49 PM
about 60fps.. win2k on p3 500, with a nice little gf2 mx 12.00

but i dont have a ~ button.. damn..

HFAFiend
04-15-2001, 01:15 PM
I was THIS close to making mine a q3a console, then I realized how much I hated typing '/' http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 01:31 PM
Ah yes, vsync must be turned off for the highest fps to be seen http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

How does Nvidia get that porche to draw so fast? It has like 100,000 polygons in it or something.

I'm using CVAs. Are VARs faster for Nvidia cards?

I apreciate your benchmarks http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif. I can't wait to release my library http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif.

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 01:44 PM
davepermen, someone in here can tell you what the equivilent to the ~ is. It's like ALT+RIGHT SHIFT or ALT+FORWARD SLASH.

IsaackRasmussen
04-15-2001, 03:27 PM
Whatever,

Does your prog really need to run in 16bit? My graphicscard can't run in anything else than 32bit.

But yes, VAR is faster than CVA. You should really take a look at the performance faq, found at www.nvidia.com/developer.nsf. (http://www.nvidia.com/developer.nsf.)
With VAR it is pretty easy to spin a 100.000 triangle model.

Has great info there.

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 05:00 PM
I threw it into 16bit mode so it would do ok on the older boards.

I guess I'm gonna have to impliment VAR then =D.

Here's (http://www.spider3d.com/downloads/pack32.zip) a 32 bit version for ya.

I changed the "/quit" command to be "quit". I think I made it possible for non-USA keyboards to drop the console down with the default Q3A console key.

I also re-enabled the fly mode so you can fly around your models.

Controls:
right button = forward
spacebar = up according to angle
a = strafe left
d = strafe right
s = backwards

[This message has been edited by WhatEver (edited 05-01-2001).]

IsaackRasmussen
04-15-2001, 05:24 PM
A few secs after startup, I get 97-100 fps.

32Bit color, on my Diamond FireGL1. 750Mhz Duron, Win2K.

After a smooth, it seems to drop with about 10fps.
My card doesn't have any CVA btw.

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 05:59 PM
A "smooth" alone will cause the model to draw slower. You need to use the "align" command after a smooth to speed it up.

100fps for a card that has no CVA is very good IMO http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif.

WhatEver
04-15-2001, 06:02 PM
FYI. My program spits out a file with the name of your vid card manufacture. You can edit it with notepad to see what extensions your card supports.

I should prolly just have it write that into the console instead from now on.

frogger
04-15-2001, 06:23 PM
Wow.....
Athlon 650
TNT 2 Ultra

4 fps (Generic Microsoft driver)
48 fps (Detonator 3 drivers)

The drivers do make the difference....
My originals from creative must suck.

AHa
04-15-2001, 09:15 PM
Intel P2 400
192 MB
Geforce II MX 32MB

160 fps (vsync disabled)

in console around 70fps http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif)

ffish
04-15-2001, 10:17 PM
WhatEver,

PIII 500, 256MB RAM, GeForce 2 GTS 64MB
160 fps (VSync disabled)

That's in 16-bit mode. I get 158 fps with your 32-bit app. When I get my T-Bird 1200 back in a few days I'll test it again for you.

BTW, everyone getting ~60fps should test it with VSync off for a more accurate result.

Anonymous Coward
04-15-2001, 11:16 PM
Hey!

Windows 2000
Geforce 256 SDR
128 RAM
Logitech keyboard + mouse

158 fps...

Michael Steinberg
04-16-2001, 03:49 AM
Uhmmm... We love c++? Why not make multiple consoles? F1 for command, F2 for chat. That way the world is great... http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif Well at least this is what i did... http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

pleopard
04-16-2001, 04:44 AM
Win2k/SP1, AMD 1.0Ghz, 256Mb RAM, GeForce2 GTS/3Mb

16 bit - 58 FPS
32 Bit - 60 Fps

CoBour
04-17-2001, 07:03 AM
P2-400
W2K
192 MB Ram 100 Mhz
GeForce2MX 32MB SD Ram

about 145 fps

Why don't you disable the Vsync in your Program?

Take care
CoBour

NewtonApple
04-17-2001, 12:37 PM
PIII 933
GeForce256 64MB

120fps constant

=)

WhatEver
04-17-2001, 01:30 PM
How can I disable Vsync in my program?

pleopard
04-17-2001, 05:00 PM
Why would you disable VSynch in the program?

BTW: You can disable vsynch for GeForce cards w/the GeForce Tweaks program @ http://www.guru3d.com/geforcetweakutility/

ffish
04-28-2001, 11:33 PM
Said I'd test it again with my Athlon http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif :

T-Bird 1200, 512MB RAM, GeForce2 GTS 64MB running at 220MHz/385MHz
192fps

Cheers.

[This message has been edited by ffish (edited 04-29-2001).]

Alessandro_dup1
04-29-2001, 12:31 AM
VSync off
Athlon 1.2Ghz
Geforce2 GTS 32Mb

272 fps

CoBour
04-29-2001, 02:25 AM
Sorry for the delay, had few time last weeks.
How to disable Vsync from within your code:

typedef BOOL (APIENTRY * wglSwapIntervalEXT_Func)(int);
wglSwapIntervalEXT_Func wglSwapIntervalEXT=NULL;

wglSwapIntervalEXT=(wglSwapIntervalEXT_Func) wglGetProcAddress("wglSwapIntervalEXT");
if(wglSwapIntervalEXT != NULL ) wglSwapIntervalEXT(0);

Hope that helps
CoBour

P.S.: I forgot to mention, that you should check for existance of the WGL_EXT_swap_control extension before using the code. Sorry!

[This message has been edited by CoBour (edited 05-01-2001).]

Nutty
04-29-2001, 10:50 AM
HAHA!

Athlon 1ghz.
256 meg at 133
Underclocked Geforce 3 (its a whole big (lack of) PSU thing.

412 fps.

Nutty

WhatEver
04-29-2001, 10:50 AM
Ah, cool! I'll add that to my opengl archive.

Every time I see something posted here these days I copy and paste it into an archive for later use. It's better than surching for it over and over again. Same thing goes for urls.

WhatEver
04-29-2001, 01:50 PM
ROTFLMAO!!! Now THAT is one fast video card Nutty!

If it can draw my model that fast, I can't wait to see how it does using the VAR extention http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/eek.gif.

WhatEver
04-29-2001, 01:55 PM
Did I mention that the ball has 10,200 triangles http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/eek.gif?

WhatEver
04-29-2001, 01:58 PM
Is 1.5 million polygons a second fast? That's what my vannila opengl model library is pulling on my GeforceDDR http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/eek.gif.

WhatEver
04-29-2001, 02:01 PM
http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/eek.gif

Warrior
04-29-2001, 04:49 PM
Athlon t-bird 1.1
256 ram
geforce 2 ultra 64
win2k
vsync disabled
312 fps http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif hehe

cool program.

crap i didnt see nutty's message above, so im editing now, and i thought mine was fast. damn you, you geforce 3 owning bastard!!! hehe. i envy you.

[This message has been edited by Warrior (edited 04-29-2001).]

pixio
05-01-2001, 08:34 AM
I want to test. Byt I cannot download the Speed Demo. http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif

WhatEver
05-01-2001, 12:44 PM
Link fixed pixio http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/biggrin.gif.

Tilgovi
05-01-2001, 01:34 PM
iMac DV 400
128 MB
ATI Rage 128 Pro
MacOS 8.6
OpenGL 1.2.1 (i think)

Can't run your program cause you're all microsoft-worshippers.

Damn you http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

-Tilgovi

P.S. I'm really craving a G4 733 with a GeForce 3, but I don't have that kind of money on my own being that I'm 14 http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif
They are sooo sexy!

[This message has been edited by Tilgovi (edited 05-01-2001).]

Hull
05-01-2001, 09:47 PM
Being only 14 with that attitude and being here on this forum, I say you won't be out of money in the future.

(You probably own the world if youre good enough.)