PDA

View Full Version : Strange problems(Dissapearing Faces)!



XBCT
10-04-2000, 02:32 AM
Hi!
I have the following prob:
I wrote a new back-end for my Q3-Viewer and everything works fine except for one thing....There are some faces that dissapear if one looks at them in a certain angle.
This happens only with some very few Faces(5-10) in an average Q3-level.
It doesnīt depend on the used texture....There are for example 10 faces with one texture and one of them starts dissapearing....
I didnīt change my front-end therefore it cannot be a fault in vis determination, but I really cannot imagine that this is a fault in my OpenGl code.
Did anyone have a similar problem with OpenGl?
Any ideas?

P.s.:I really donīt know what to do I debugged the code for 5 hours now and am not able to find the prob.If I swith back to my old back-end the problem isnīt there.

Thanx in advance, XBTC!

Olive
10-04-2000, 02:43 AM
I don't know if that may help but you're not using the GL_EXT_cull_vertex extension with GL_CULL_VERTEX_EXT enabled or something ?

XBCT
10-04-2000, 03:45 AM
Thanx for the answer....But I disabled all culling already to make sure that that isnīt the problem....It happens if you look directly at the face and then change the camera orientation a little....

Plaese,please help me....I cannot see the debugger anymore....

Greets, XBTC!

[This message has been edited by XBCT (edited 10-04-2000).]

Gorg
10-04-2000, 08:27 AM
Could you put some screenshots of this.

Firestorm
10-04-2000, 09:30 AM
Maybe this is simply caused by backface culling?
maybe somehow your normals are pointed in the wrong direction?

XBCT
10-04-2000, 11:47 AM
Hi!
Thanx for replying....

>Could you put some screenshots of this.<

Donīt think that this would help much....You would see the floor of q3-dm1 looking identically as in q3 but with two missing faces....

>Maybe this is simply caused by backface culling?
maybe somehow your normals are pointed in the wrong direction?<

As I said befor I already disabled ALL culling so that cannot be the problem.And I only exchanged the backend with the new one
so my normal data, etc. cannot be wrong.

P.s.:Seems that itīs one of these problems which simply need to be solved in long hours of debugging....But if anyone has a idea please tell me.

Thanx in advance, XBTC!

XBCT
10-07-2000, 09:04 AM
Donīt think anymore....I solved the prob....
Greets, XBTC!