PDA

View Full Version : Scanline vs raytracing



bsimser
11-29-2000, 10:36 AM
I want to build a renderer (or perhaps make use of a free one) in my application. I read that MAX uses a scanline renderer and I know that raytracing takes forever. I'm not looking to build something that is speedy but I can't have the user wait for days to render the image and frankly, the final image isn't going to be that large (64 pixels across at most) but I would like something a little better than what OpenGL provides normally. Any suggestions?

liB

Michael Steinberg
11-29-2000, 11:19 AM
Mix it. Use scanline where possible, use raytrace where necessary.

bsimser
11-29-2000, 11:24 AM
Okay, I guess I should have asked this up front. Where can I find some information/code on building a scanline renderer? TIA

liB