PDA

View Full Version : max multitexture units on geforce2



stecher
03-07-2001, 07:41 AM
I have a geforce2 MX and it only supports 2 texture units. Does anyone know how many units are supported on the regular geforce2s? How about the geforce3?

Zeno
03-07-2001, 07:43 AM
2 and 4 respectively. Though I think there is some performance penalty for using 4 on the Geforce3. Not as much as a second pass, though.

-- Zeno

beavis
03-07-2001, 08:42 AM
ughm... i didn't know geforce 2 had only
2 multitexture units... are you sure?

Tim Stirling
03-07-2001, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by beavis:
ughm... i didn't know geforce 2 had only
2 multitexture units... are you sure?

I thought it had 4 as well.

j
03-07-2001, 10:54 AM
2 texture units, 4 pixel pipelines.

So it can draw 4 pixels at once, but with only 2 textures each.

j

Zeno
03-07-2001, 11:01 AM
On both the ultra and the pro here at work,

glGetIntegerv(GL_MAX_TEXTURE_UNITS_ARB, &n);

returns

n == 2

Incidentally, this is one of the areas the Radeon beats the Geforce 2...it has 3 texture units.

-- Zeno