PDA

View Full Version : Render Monkey v1.6 and FP textures for Displacement mapping



Mars_999
03-29-2006, 08:15 PM
Is it possible to tell RM to use a target fp32 as a texture format? AFAICT I am running in software mode as its SLOW. I looked but can't see anywhere to select the format type. Or better yet does anyone here have DM working in RM that hardware accelerated? Thanks

Tin Whisker
03-30-2006, 07:24 AM
:confused:

Does RenderMonkey have a manual of some kind?

By the way, what is a RenderMonkey? None of the monkeys I know can render -- that's for sure.

Mars_999
03-30-2006, 07:34 AM
Yes, but I didn't see anything about it in the manual.

Nikolai Timofeev
03-30-2006, 07:35 AM
You cannot change texture format within RenderMonkey, but you can create your own DDS texture (use DirectX Texture Tool From DXSDK, for example) - RM load it with required format.
Or you can generate texture direct within RenderMonkey.

Mars_999
03-30-2006, 05:49 PM
Originally posted by Nikolai Timofeew:
You cannot change texture format within RenderMonkey, but you can create your own DDS texture (use DirectX Texture Tool From DXSDK, for example) - RM load it with required format.
Or you can generate texture direct within RenderMonkey. Hey thanks for the help. I am not sure what you mean by create the texture in RM? Do you mean with a shader or some method that RM has? Thanks

CatDog
03-31-2006, 03:15 PM
Right-click on a texture and then on "Generator".

CatDog

Mars_999
03-31-2006, 04:41 PM
Wow the DM shader is SO SLOW... I have a 7800GT...