PDA

View Full Version : plizzz help : problem using alpha blending code with an ATI Radeon VE card



mvidalinc
05-07-2002, 06:08 AM
Since i've change my graphic card my game doesn't work well :
when using alpha blending function my textures are splitted with
a diagonal line as you can see below :

http://www.mathieuvidalinc.com/opengl/texture.jpg

but this my geforce2 MX there was no problem at all !

source and executable on my page:

http://www.mathieuvidalinc.com/opengl/opengl.htm

or directly the main prog :

http://m.vidalinc.free.fr/opengl/main_prog.cpp


This graphik card is not very good but alpha
blending normally works. By example this code from ATI website works on my pc (254k):

http://m.vidalinc.free.fr/opengl/Rage128AlphaTest.zip

as you can see :

http://m.vidalinc.free.fr/opengl/texture2.jpg

i've tried to change my code so it looks like the ATI code but with no result.

i think my alpha blending / alpha test code is not correct.

please help. do you have an idea ?



[This message has been edited by mvidalinc (edited 05-07-2002).]

zeckensack
05-07-2002, 07:30 AM
Try commenting out line #1540.
This one:
glEnable(GL_POLYGON_SMOOTH);

See if this helps.

If think the font lib that you're using doesn't like polygon smoothing.

[This message has been edited by zeckensack (edited 05-07-2002).]

nexusone
05-07-2002, 07:45 AM
I have seen some of the same problem in some of the 3D games that I play on my ATI Radeon VE. I am not sure what the cause of it is, maybe a driver issue.


[QUOTE]Originally posted by mvidalinc:
[B]Since i've change my graphic card my game doesn't work well :
when using alpha blending function my textures are splitted with
a diagonal line as you can see below :


[This message has been edited by nexusone (edited 05-07-2002).]

mvidalinc
05-07-2002, 08:18 AM
YEAHH
one word : RESPECT http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif

it was indeed a problem with the GL_POLYGON_SMOOTH function.

thx thx thx to both!