PDA

View Full Version : How can I draw a sphere cap?



glsqyj
04-25-2005, 06:43 PM
I am a new guy here,and I have lots of problems,here is one of them.Is there some kind people can help me?

bansheeogl
04-25-2005, 07:37 PM
Post what you got so far (code) so we can help you ;)

Tell us exactly what you need!

glsqyj
04-26-2005, 03:31 AM
Thank you for your reply.I want to draw several primitives,including cylinder,cone and spherical cap,and to add texture to them.Cylinder and cone is ok,but I can't draw spherical cap.It's hard to me now.What I want to know is whether there is some function to draw spherical cap.It is better to add texture easily.
What do you think of it?I am anxious of you.

PS:my english is not good,please excuse me.

UrbanLegend
04-26-2005, 06:54 AM
Well one way and a relatively easy way would be to use a Modeling package such as 3ds,Max, Multgen-Creator, Lightwave etc

Create your model in that, texture it in that and use or write a model loader to load into your Opengl Application etc..

____________________

Gordon.

www.3dscenegraph.com (http://www.3dscenegraph.com)
Vega FAQ/Samples (http://www.3dscenegraph.com/vega)
SceneGraph Forums (http://www.3dscenegraph.com/3dsceneBB/)

bansheeogl
04-26-2005, 12:48 PM
OR convert that into opengl data... theres converters out there.

But I think he wants to do it using for loops and such thing, in runtime, right?..

- As a side question, Im loading an obj which has arround 4000 triangles, thing is... I get 10 fps or even lower, im doing many calls maybe? I call glVertex3f on every loop 3 times, and inside of them some procedures of mine which retrieves data from the structure (in where I stored the loaded data from the mesh file) .. is there any better method? im not in c++ by the way

glsqyj
04-26-2005, 04:08 PM
but I am not familiar with 3ds max,and I have to draw a primitive from a database.What can I do?